In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

EACVI Excellence in Education Awards

Through its series of awards, the EACVI recognises the excellence and dedication of educators in cardiovascular imaging

Applications and nominations for EACVI Excellence in Education Awards 2023 are not currently being accepted.

Awardees will be announced during EACVI 2023 congress, 10-12 May 2023.


The EACVI has created “Excellence in Education Awards“ to recognise, highlight and encourage the dedication of outstanding educators in cardiovascular imaging.

Awards are presented in three categories:

  • Outstanding Early-Career Educator Award (<10 years since completion of training)
  • Distinguished Mid-Career Educator Award (10-20 years since completion of training)
  • Distinguished Master Educator Award (>20 years since completion of training)

 Application Process

Call for nominations

Both self-proposed and peer-proposed nominations are encouraged.

If you think that your contribution to education stands out, consider applying for the EACVI Award for Excellence in Education.

If you know someone who deserves an Award for Excellence in Education, please consider nominating them.

Applications are accepted via an application form (the link will be available during the open application period)

Eligibility criteria

Membership status:

  • EACVI Silver Membership or Fellow of the EACVI (FEACVI) status is required for all candidates
  • Fellow of the ESC (FESC) or FEACVI status is required for candidates for Mid-Career and Master Awards

Candidates will need to submit:

  • Their CV
  • Educational portfolio: theses, teaching courses, mentorship programmes, supervisor of EACVI/ESC/national grants, education leadership positions, etc.
  • Letters of support from other FESC/FEACVI; from Head of Department; from individuals mentored or trained


  • Current EACVI Board Members cannot be nominated

Grading process

Step 1. Pre-screening: the pre-selection committee will review all nominees and preselect nine finalists (three per category)

Step 2. Grading of the finalists by the Awards task force

Step 3. Decision: The award will go to the highest score of each category

Awards ceremony

The EACVI Excellence in Education Awards will be announced during the Inaugural or the Closing Session at the annual EACVI congress. Awardees will also be acknowledged on this web page.

EACVI Excellence in Education Awardees

Discover the winners!

EACVI Excellence in Education Awards Task Force 2020-2022

  • Alexandros Stefanidis (Greece) Co-Chair (Preselection Committee)
  • Maria J. Andrade (Portugal) Co-Chair (Preselection Committee)
  • Ivan Stankovic (Serbia)
  • Jarek Kasprzak (Poland)
  • Hani Mahmoud (UK) – HIT
  • Inga Voges (Germany)
  • Sarah Moharem-Elgamal (UK)
  • Anastasia Kitsiou (Greece)
  • Mark Westwood (UK)
  • Senta Graf (Austria)
  • Tomáš Paleček (Czechia)
  • Blazej Michalski (Poland) – HIT Committee Chair 2020-2022
  • Matteo Cameli (Italy) – HIT Committee Chair 2018-2020
  • Nina Ajmone Marsan (Netherlands) – Education Chair 2020-2022
  • Denisa Muraru (Italy) – Education Chair 2018-2020
  • Giovanni Di Salvo (Italy) – Education Deputy Chair 2018-2020
  • Bernard Cosyns (Belgium) – EACVI President 2020-2022
  • Steffen E Petersen (UK) – EACVI President-Elect 2020-2022
  • Thor Edvardsen (Norway) – EACVI Past President 2018-2020
  • Bogdan Popescu (Romania) – EACVI Past President 2016-2018