In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Guidelines Publication Schedule

The European Society of Cardiology (ESC) publishes clinical practice guidelines and documents with up-to-date evidence-based knowledge on the prevention, diagnosis, and management of cardiovascular diseases. These guidelines and documents are developed under the auspices of the ESC Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee and are published on a regular basis in the European Heart Journal.

ESC Guidelines and documents planned for 2026

  • Heart Failure
    Chairpersons: Marianna Adamo and Lars Køber
  • Cardiac rehabilitation
    Chairpersons: Maria Bäck, Dominique Hansen and Matthias Wilhelm 
  • Chronic kidney disease in cardiovascular disease
    Chairpersons: Kevin Damman and William Herrington
  • 5th Universal definition of myocardial infarction

ESC Guidelines and documents planned for 2025

  • Cardiovascular disease during pregnancy (Guidelines)
    Chairpersons: Julie De Backer and Kristina Hermann Haugaa
  • Cardiovascular disease and mental health (Consensus Statement)
    Chairpersons: Hector Bueno and Christi Deaton
  • Myocarditis and pericarditis (Guidelines)
    Chairpersons: Massimo Imazio and Jeanette Schulz-Menger
  • Valvular heart disease (Joint Guidelines with EACTS)
    Chairpersons: Fabien Praz and Michael A. Borger
  • Focused update of the 2019 dyslipidaemia guidelines
    Chairpersons: François Mach, Konstantinos Koskinas and Jeanine Roeters Van Lennep

ESC Guidelines and documents planned for 2024

  • Elevated blood pressure and hypertension
    Chairpersons: John William McEvoy and Rhian Touyz
  • Atrial fibrillation
    Chairpersons: Isabelle C. Van Gelder and Dipak Kotecha 
  • Chronic coronary syndromes
    Chairpersons: Felicita Andreotti and Christiaan Vrints
  • Peripheral arterial and aortic diseases
    Chairpersons: Lucia Mazzolai and José Rodriguez Palomares

ESC Guidelines and documents published in 2023

  • Acute coronary syndromes
    Chairpersons: Robert Byrne and Borja Ibanez
  • Cardiomyopathies
    Chairpersons: Elena Arbelo and Juan Pablo Kaski
  • Cardiovascular disease and diabetes
    Chairpersons: Nikolaus Marx and Massimo Federici
  • Endocarditis
    Chairpersons: Victoria Delgado and Michael Borger
  • Focused update of the 2021 heart failure guidelines
    Chairpersons: Theresa McDonagh and Marco Metra

ESC Guidelines and documents published in 2022

  • Ventricular arrhythmias and sudden cardiac death
    Chairpersons: Katja Zeppenfeld and Jacob Tfelt-Hansen
  • Cardiovascular assessment and management of patients undergoing non-cardiac surgery
    Chairpersons: Sigrun Halvorsen and Julinda Mehilli
  • Cardio-oncology
    Chairpersons: Alexander Lyon and Teresa Lopez-Fernandez
  • Pulmonary hypertension
    Chairpersons: Stephan Rosenkranz and Marion Delcroix

ESC Guidelines and documents published in 2021

  • Cardiac pacing
    Chairpersons: Jens Cosedis Nielsen and Michael Glikson
  • Valvular heart disease
    Chairpersons: Alec Vahanian and Friedhelm Beyersdorf
  • CVD prevention
    Chairpersons: Francois Mach and Frank Visseren
  • Heart failure
    Chairpersons: Theresa McDonagh and Marco Metra

ESC Guidelines and documents published in 2020

  • Non-ST segment elevation acute coronary syndromes
    Chairpersons: Jean-Philippe Collet and Holger Thiele
  • Atrial fibrillation
    Chairpersons: Tatiana Potpara and Gerhard Hindricks
  • Adult congenital heart disease (previously grown-up congenital heart disease)
    Chairpersons: Helmut Baumgartner and Julie De Backer
  • Sports cardiology and physical activity in patients with cardiovascular disease
    Chairpersons: Antonio Pelliccia and Sanjay Sharma

ESC Guidelines and documents published in 2019

  • Diabetes, pre-diabetes and cardiovascular disease
    Chairpersons: Francesco Consentino and Peter Grant
  • Acute pulmonary embolism
    Chairpersons: Stavros Konstantinides and Guy Meyer
  • Supraventricular tachycardia
    Chairpersons: Josep Brugada and Demosthenes Katritsis
  • Chronic coronary syndromes (previously Stable Coronary Artery Disease)
    Chairpersons: William Wijns and Juhani Knuuti
  • Dyslipidaemias
    Chairpersons: Colin Baigent, Francois Mach and Alberico Catapano

ESC Guidelines and documents published in 2018

  • Syncope
    Chairpersons: Michele Brignole and Angel Moya
  • Fourth universal definition of MI and myocardial Injury
    Chairpersons: Kristian Thygesen, Joseph Alpert and Harvey White
  • Myocardial revascularization
    Chairpersons: Franz Joseph Neumann and Miguel Sousa Uva
  • CVD during pregnancy
    Chairpersons: Vera Regitz-Zagrosek and Jolien Roos-Hesselink
  • Arterial hypertension
    Chairpersons: Bryan Williams and Giuseppe Mancia

ESC Guidelines and documents published in 2017

    Chairpersons: Stefan James and Borja Ibanez
  • Focused update on dual anti-platelet therapy
    Chairperson: Marco Valgimigli
  • Peripheral arterial disease
    Chairpersons: Victor Aboyans and Jean-Baptiste Ricco
  • Valvular heart disease
    Chairpersons: Helmut Baumgartner and Volkmar Falk

ESC Guidelines and documents published in 2016

  • Cardio-oncology (Position Paper)
    Chairpersons: Jose Luis Zamorano and Patrizio Lancellotti
  • CVD prevention
    Chairpersons: Massimo Piepoli and Arno W. Hoes
  • Atrial fibrillation
    Chairpersons: Paulus Kirchhof and Stefano Benussi
  • Heart failure
    Chairpersons: Piotr Ponikowski and Adriaan Voors