In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Board of the ESC Council on Cardio-Oncology

The Nucleus

The Council is led by a Nucleus. The first ESC Council of Cardio-Oncology Nucleus for the initial two-year term 2018–2020 was nominated by ESC leadership.

The Nucleus for the period 2022–2024 was elected in agreement with the ESC Councils' Internal Governance. 


Nucleus Members 2022–2024

Photo Name Position

Alexander Lyon
United Kingdom


 Lopez Fernandez, Teresa.jpg

Teresa Lopez-Fernandez


 Thomas Suter.jpg

Thomas Suter

 Past Chairperson


Peter Van Der Meer


 RudolfdeBoer2018 (002).jpg

Rudolf De Boer


Ciro Santoro 2020.JPG


Ciro Santoro


Communications Officer

Jeroen Bax


Liaison Officer
Giuseppina Novo.jpg

Giuseppina Novo



Ordinary Nucleus Member
C Plummer.jpg

Christopher Plummer

United Kingdom


Ordinary Nucleus Member
 Pietro Ameri_2022.jpg

Pietro Ameri

Ordinary Nucleus Member


Ex-Officio Board Members 2022-2024

Name Country Organisation
Marianne Aznar United Kingdom European Society for Radiotherapy & Oncology
Raul Cordoba Mascuñano Spain European Haematology Association
Sofie Gevaert Belgium Association for Acute CardioVascular Care
Yvonne Koop United Kingdom Association of Cardiovascular Nursing & Allied Professions
Giuseppe Boriani Italy European Heart Rhythm Association
Alain Cohen Solal France Heart Failure Association
Mamas Mamas United Kingdom European Association of Percutaneous Cardiovascular Interventions (EAPCI)
Berlinde Von Kemp Belgium European Association of Cardiovascular Imaging (EACVI)
Gery Lee United Kingdom Ex-Officio Member
Daniela Cardinale  Italy Ex-Officio Member
Dimitrios Farmakis  Greece Ex-Officio Member
Carlo Gabriele Tocchetti Italy Ex-Officio Member
Sebastian Szmit Poland Ex-Officio Member
Jutta Bergler-Klein Austria Ex-Officio Member
Geeta Gulati Norway Ex-Officio Member