In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Netherlands Society of Cardiology

The Netherlands Society of Cardiology is a member of the European Society of Cardiology

Netherlands, NL


As a member of the Netherlands Society of Cardiology, you are automatically a member of the European Society of Cardiology and the ESC Community.


Board 2021-2023

President: Dr. J.G. Meeder, FESC

Vice-President/President-Elect: Prof. Rudolf De Boer, FESC

Past-President: Prof. A.C. van Rossum, FESC

Treasurer: Dr. C.E.E. van Ofwegen-Hanekamp

Board member: Dr. Michelle Michels, FESC

Board member: Prof. J.P. (Jose) Henriques

Key information

Number of Members: 1955

Year of foundation: 1934

ESC Member since: 1950


Netherlands Heart Journal is the journal of the Netherlands Society of Cardiology.
The scope of the Netherlands Heart Journal is to contribute to the national and international literature by publishing scientific papers in the field of cardiovascular medicine. It also provides a platform for continuing medical education for cardiologists and those in training for the speciality of cardiology in the Netherlands.
The Netherlands Heart Journal is made available to cardiologists, cardiologists in training, cardiopulmonary surgeons, cardiopulmonary surgeons in training, internists and paediatric cardiologists.
The first publication was in 2001. The journal is issued 11 times per year and published in English.
Editor in chief: Jan J. Piek.

ESC Clinical Practice Guidelines endorsed by your National Society




Upcoming Events

  • Tuesday 12 - Wednesday 13 April 2022 (2 Days)
    12/04/2022 09:00 13/04/2022 18:00 Europe/Paris EuroACHD 2022

    The European meeting in Adult Congenital Heart Disease, EuroGUCH, provides an independent educational forum for healthcare professionals across Europe.

    It is aimed at cardiologists and allied medical professionals with an interest in congenital heart disease as well as specialists in the field.

    Focus of the meeting is innovative treatments and interventions which can be applied to the adult patient population with congenital heart disease, with a faculty made up of internationally renowned speakers and experts in the field.

    ESC Working Group on Adult Congenital Heart Disease DD/MM/YYYY
    ESC Working Group on Adult Congenital Heart Disease
    Rotterdam - Netherlands

    The Annual Meeting of the ESC Working Group on Adult Congenital Heart Disease (ACHD)

  • Friday 26 - Monday 29 August 2022 (4 Days)
    26/08/2022 00:00 29/08/2022 00:00 Europe/Paris ESC Congress 2022 Rotterdam - Netherlands European Society of Cardiology true DD/MM/YYYY
    European Society of Cardiology
    Barcelona - Spain