In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

ESC Working Group on Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy

The Working Group on Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy of the ESC is actively involved with all aspects of cardiovascular pharmacology, from basic pharmacology over clinical trials to clinical pharmacology.

Aims and Activities


  • To promote and organise research in the field of cardiovascular pharmacology and drug therapy
  • To design and coordinate scientific research in its specialty
  • To be involved in task forces of the European Society of Cardiology related to cardiovascular pharmacology
  • To increase the number of Working Group members


  • To start up and strengthen the new journal of the Working Group, entitled European Heart Journal-Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy. The journal will come out with 4 issues during 2015 aiming at increasing that number up to 12 issues a year within 5-6 years. An aim with the journal is to become the strongest scientific journal within cardiovascular pharmacology
  • To organise yearly scientific meeting of the Working Group with focus on cardiovascular pharmacology
  • To participate in the production of ESC Clinical Practice Guidelines
  • To publish position papers within the area of the Working Group
  • To contribute to the organisation and preparation of the Annual Congress of the ESC
  • To participate and support other scientific meetings and symposia
  • To organise teaching workshops and other types of education on topics related to cardiovascular pharmacology and drug therapy
  • To hold regular meetings of the nucleus of the Working Group

Nucleus 2020-2022


Assoc. Prof. Alexander Niessner, FESC
Medical University Of Vienna
Dept. Int. Med. Ii, Division Of Cardiology
Waehringer Guertel 18-20
AT-1090 Vienna - Austria 
email address


Prof. Juan Carlos Kaski, FESC
St George's, University Of London
Molecular & Clinical Sciences Research Inst
Cranmer Terrace Tooting
SW17 ORE London - United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
email address


Prof. Heinz Drexel, FESC
Medicine and Cardiology Academic Teaching Hospital
Feldkirch Carinagasse 47
6800 Feldkirch - Austria
email address


Prof. Claudio Ceconi, FESC
email address

Secretary & Communication Coordinator

Dr. Anne Grete Semb, FESC
email address

Ordinary Nucleus members

Prof. Iris Baumgartner
email address

Prof. Claudio Borghi, FESC
email address

Prof. Elisabetta Cerbai, FESC
email address

Prof. Dobromir Dobrev
email address

Prof. Keld Per Kjeldsen
email address

Prof. Juan Luis Tamargo, FESC
email address

Prof. Christian Tobias Torp-Pedersen, FESC
email address

Non-voting nucleus members

Prof. Basil S Lewis, FESC

Assoc. Prof. Gianluigi Savarese, FESC

Dr. Patrick Sulzgruber, FESC
EuroCVP & Working Group representative in ESC Young cte

Prof. Giuseppe M.C. Rosano, FESC
Working Group Representative in ESC Regulatory affaires cte

Assoc. Prof. Sven Wassmann, FESC