In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Continuing Medical Education and Accreditation

Education is at the core of ESC’s strategic plan, with an objective to deliver world-class learning and professional development to the cardiovascular community.

By submitting its educational programmes for accreditation, the ESC demonstrate a strong will to deliver robust, unbiased, educational programmes built on a strong, evidence-based foundation so patients can receive the best care possible.

Accreditation principles

Accreditation means compliance with demanding criteria such as:

  • Identify educational needs
  • Define clear learning objectives
  • Assess participants’ performance and progress using sound evaluation mechanisms
  • Identify and communicate on expected educational outcome
  • Base scientific content on evidence
  • Eliminate any form of commercial bias
  • Engage speakers and course directors in disclosing potential conflict of interests
  • Gather feedback from participants on the programme

Each programme is reviewed and assessed individually.

The accrediting body: UEMS-EACCME

uems-logo.pngAll European Society of Cardiology live and online educational programmes are submitted to UEMS-EACCME for evaluation and accreditation.

The European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME) is an institution of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS) responsible for the evaluation and accreditation of Medical Education Programmes.

UEMS-EACCME accredited programmes are awarded a number of European Credits in Continuing Medical Education (ECMEC). More information on UEMS-EACCME accreditation process.

Recognition of CME points in ESC Countries

Collect your CME certificate for participation in ESC accredited Programmes and have your CME points validated by your national accreditation authority.

Participants from below listed countries will have their CME Credits automatically recognised by their National Medical Authorities.

  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Finland
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Regione Lombardia
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom

In case your country does not belong to the ones benefiting from a formal recognition agreement with UEMS-EACCME, you are still encouraged to submit your CME Certificate to the national accreditation authority in your country as it may as well be accepted on a case to case basis.

Recognition of CME points in North America


Through an agreement between the European Union of Medical Specialists and the American Medical Association, physicians may convert EACCME credits to an equivalent number of AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™.
Information on the process to convert EACCME credit to AMA credit


Live educational activities, occurring outside of Canada, recognized by the UEMS-EACCME for ECMEC credits are deemed to be Accredited Group Learning Activities (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada."


Find out more about CME credits for ESC Congresses

Each congress is submitted for review for accreditation to the European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME®)

Once accredited each medical specialist should claim only those hours of credit that he/she actually spent in the educational activity.