In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

EAPC Task Forces

EAPC expert groups, tackling key topics of the association

Aviation and Occupational Cardiology


To develop a strategy for educational materials, practice support and to be an expert point of contact for cardiologists, aviation medical examiners and regulators such as the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), and expand to wider occupational groups, such as high-hazard occupations, professional drivers, divers, climbers, etc.

Discover the EAPC Task Force on Aviation and Occupational Cardiology.



To build on the EAPC Core Curriculum for Preventive Cardiology (EJPC, April 2020) and to establish an EAPC Preventive Cardiology Certification Programme in 2022, providing:

  • Harmonisation of training
  • Professional standards
  • Recognition of qualified specialists
  • Better patient outcome and patient safety

Task Force composition

  • Michael Papadakis, Executive Officer
  • Vass Vassiliou, Task Force Co-Chair
  • Sabiha Gati, Task Force Co-Chair
  • Fielder Camm
  • Vicky Tsampasian

Population science and public health:

  • Giuseppe Biondi-Zoccai
  • Pedro Marques-Vidal
  • Pep Iglesies Grau (Young representative)

Secondary prevention and rehabilitation:

  • Maria Back
  • Dominique Hansen
  • Roberto Pedretti
  • Maria Simonenko
  • Martijn Scherrenberg (Young representative)

Primary care and risk factor management:

  • Manuel Frias Vargas
  • Maarten Falter (Young representative)

Sports Cardiology & Exercise:

  • Thijs Eijsvogels
  • Silvia Castelletti
  • Elena Cavarreta
  • Maria Sanz de la Garza
  • David Niederseer (Young representative)

Accreditation subcommittee representative:

  • Harald Jorstad

External members from established certification programmes:

  • Luna Gargani, EACVI
  • Mitja Lainscak, HFA
  • Stelios Tzeis, EHRA

Education Committee chair:

  • Matthias Wilhelm

ESC Certification committee:

  • Kevin Fox

Childhood Cardiovascular Health


The Task Force consists of four work packages (WPs):

WP1: Childhood obesity

  • To change obesity-related CV risk trajectories in childhood by early lifestyle interventions

WP2: Adult Congenital Heart Disease (ACHD)

  • To target transition of care in ACHD

WP3: Sudden Cardiac Death (SCD) / Pre-competition screening

  • To reduce the risk of SCD in the young

WP4: Perinatal modification of offspring CV risk

  • To initiate pregnancy interventions in high-risk women to improve offspring CV health
  • To obtain better data

Task Force composition

  • Nicolle Kränkel, Executive Officer
  • Monica Tiberi, Task Force Co-Chair
  • Henner Hanssen, Task Force Co-Chair
Alessandro Biffi (lead) Delphine De Smedt (lead) Flavio D‘Ascenzi (lead) Emeline Van Craenenbroeck (lead)
Martin Bahls (lead) Eva Goossens  (lead) Silvia Castelletti (lead) Trine Moholdt (lead)
Nicolle Kränkel Felix Berger Paolo Emilio Adami Adam Lewandowski (lead)
Monika Siegrist Johannes Nordmeyer Guido Pieles Monica Tiberi
Guiseppe Biond Zoccai Peter Kramer Evert Verhagen Martin Bahls
Dominique Hansen Kira Kuschnerus Viviana Maestrini Henner Hanssen
Monica Tiberi Paul Kantor Maria Sanz de la Garza  
Henner Hanssen Aparna Kulkarni Elena Cavarretta  
Maja-Lisa Lochen   Monica Tiberi  
    Alessandro Biffi  



  • Assessment of nutritional status and its influence on personal cardiovascular risk
  • Elaboration of general and individual dietary recommendations considering necessary behavioural modifications, with a multidisciplinary approach.

Task Force composition

Costas Davos, Executive Officer
Pedro Marques Vidal, Task Force Co-Chair
Hermann Toplak, Task Force Co-Chair

  • Monica Tiberi
  • Véronique Cornelissen
  • Christi Deaton
  • Maria Antonopoulou
  • Elena Cavarretta
  • Christophe Matthys
  • Arrigo F.G. Cicero

Risk Factors


  • To ensure a good programme for risk factors at ESC Preventive Cardiology and ESC Congresses
  • To identify experts for each risk factors for EAPC activities
  • To advise on each risk factor in the various activities of the Association
  • To interact with other ESC working groups and Associations
  • To advise on risk factors for advocacy-related questions

Task Force composition

Paul Dendale, Executive Officer
Roberto Pedretti, Task Force Chair
Maryam Kavousi, Task Force Secretary

  • Scott Bowen
  • Véronique Cornelissen
  • Irene Gibson
  • Konstantinos Koskinas
  • Aneil Malhotra
  • Elena Osto
  • Kai Savonen
  • Anne Grete Semb
  • David R Thompson
  • Heinz Voeller
  • Donata Kurpas
  • Stefano Caselli
  • Tobias Raupach


The aim of this programme is to increase physical fitness in sedentary and obese individuals with cardiovascular risk factors, and improve knowledge on nutrition and exercise with the objective to walk or run 10 km at the closing event after a 10-week training programme.


  • To implement Walk10! in 10 countries in 10 years

Task Force composition

  • Martin Halle, Executive Officer
  • Trine Moholdt, Task Force Chair
  • Flavio D'Ascenzi
  • Rita Salvador
  • Zaneta Petrulioniene
  • Monica Tiberi
  • Silvia Castelletti
  • Josef Niebauer
  • Viviana Maestrini
  • Elena Cavarretta
  • Marleen Kestens