In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

EACVI Recertification

In order to keep his/her certification status, any professional who has been certified by the EACVI must apply for recertification from 6 months before up to 6 months after the five-year certification validity expires.

Recertification process is currently available only for EACVI TTE, EACVI/EACTA TOE and EACVI/AEPC Echo CHD. Certification and any recertifications are valid for a full five years.

Recertification process

Candidates who have successfully completed the certification process have been awarded a 5-year certification.

To retain the respective certification candidates must apply for recertification from 6-months before to 6 months after the certification expiration date.

During this time window, candidates who are eligible for the recertification will receive an automatic email every 3 months to apply for recertification. This email is sent on MyESC email address. All candidates will be reminded as the deadline approaches but it is the candidate responsibility to ensure that the recertification is submitted in a timely manner.

The first step is to pay the recertification fee which is:

  • €200: Standard and EACVI Regular
  • €75: EACVI Silver and EACVI Gold

Once the payment is validated, confirmation email will be received with a link to the platform where the requested documents can be uploaded.

Candidates simply need to complete the form and select the “submit” button at the end. Their application will be sent to the Certification Team to handle.

All applications are reviewed by the Certification Team before being sent to grading. If further details are required during the process the candidates will be asked to provide them within two weeks of being asked.

Results of the recertification are sent by email within three months after request. Candidates successfully recertified will be awarded an electronic certificate.

Please note that the name displayed on the certificate is the one enter in your MyESC account; please be sure to have all the information correctly entered in your MyESC account. No corrections are possible once the certificate has been delivered. 

Extension request

If a candidate is in need of an extension of time, they must request this with a signed letter of explanation from their supervisor. The request must be submitted BEFORE the deadline and cannot be granted in arrears. All requests should be directed to the certification office through Contact Us

Please note that the reason for an extension must be important and extensions are not granted for minor issues, poor organisation and so on. Each request is validated by the Committee chairperson.

Recertification requirements

Recertification will be awarded on the basis of evidence of continuing practical experience and continuing medical education in echocardiography (usually recognised in CME points).

In order to assess continuing practical experience, current EACVI certified practitioners must provide the following:

  • Copy of the candidate’s initial EACVI Certification diploma
  • Recertification check list
  • Letter from the candidate’s immediate supervisor attesting of the number of studies performed by the candidate* (TTE: 250 studies; TOE: 50 studies; Echo CHD: 125 cases provided as a logbook list)
  • For Echo CHD: 125 Echo CHD most recent year's studies as a logbook list
  • Proof of CME credits with photocopies of all CME certificates. The credits must be numbered and reported in your online submission list
  • Certificate of attendance/proof of participation and copies of final scientific programmes when CME certificates are not available.

* Applicants must be involved in the study (although not necessarily have performed it completely themselves). E.g. applicants may have confirmed that the maximum gradient through the aortic valve had been obtained even though other parts of the study have been performed by a trainee/colleague. The number of studies performed per year as an average over five years.

Modality CPD/CME Requirements

50 CPD/CME points** – 25 specifically on echo


50 CPD/CME points** – 25 specifically on echo

Echo CHD

50 CPD/CME points** – 25 specifically derived from Echo CHD echo meetings/courses


**The continuing learning hours must be collected over the five years that you are certified for.

Additionally, the EACVI Certification Skills Assessment Committee TOE may ask for evidence of practical studies in the form of a report (study or videos/clips - upon request).

1 CME/CPD= one hour of echo learning

CME/CPD credits are obtained by participating in:

  • National, European and International, Echo / General Cardiology / Ultrasound meetings
  • Educational courses.

Eligible Meetings

Only the echo component of meetings will count for recertification.

Examples of eligible meetings listed below:

  • Currently certified in any other EACVI modality = 10 points towards recertification
  • EuroEcho-Imaging – please indicate hours of echo lectures attended
  • EACTA congress - please indicate hours of echo lectures attended
  • American Society of Echo meetings
  • ACC (echo component only – sessions attended must be specified)
  • AHA  (echo component only – sessions attended must be specified)
  • ESC Congress (echo component only – sessions attended must be specified)
  • Cardiothoracic anaesthesia and perioperative echocardiography meetings
  • Meetings endorsed by the EACVI
  • Meetings awarded EBAC credits (Echo component only, 1 EBAC credit hour = 1 CME hour)
  • Other meetings: other national and international meetings providing CME in Echo. Please submit copies of the course programme, faculty and evidence of your attendance with your application, and the number of hours claimed. These hours will be evaluated by the EACVI Certification committee TOE for acceptability.

It is recommended that the majority of CME hours come from meetings one to four. 

The EACVI Certification committee reserves the right to check the details of the course and evidence of attendance. The decision of the EACVI Certification Committee is final regarding award of CME hours.