In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.
ESC Congress 2020 Register

ESC Working Group on e-Cardiology

The future of cardiology care, research and education will be defined by computational, digital and mobile advances. The ESC Working Group on e-Cardiology provides a multidisciplinary platform for basic, translational and clinical scientists who are at the forefront of cardiovascular health care innovation using a wide spectrum of computational, information and communication technologies. Due to the interdisciplinary nature of this field, our Working Group acts transversally and aims to foster the collaboration with other ESC constituent bodies (Associations, Councils, Committees, and Working Groups) on digital health-related matters and activities by providing scientific background and expertise through our multidisciplinary membership. 

Aims and Activities


The Working Group provides the perfect infrastructure for scientists and clinicians active in the different cardiology disciplines to interact and transfer knowledge on digital health technologies and applications. Through its activities, our working group aims to create adoption of advanced digital technologies in the field of cardiology and thereby reduce the burden of cardiovascular disease.

Working Group activities

Our Working Group’s main activity lies in the stimulation of scientific research and of education of the ESC membership in topics such as computational methods in cardiovascular signal and image processing, artificial intelligence, big data, computational modelling and simulation, database management, intra- and inter-hospital communication technology, eHealth, patient-and-physician empowerment, wearables and mobile applications (mHealth).

Organisation of sessions at ESC Congress

Every year, our Working Group provides the programme committees of the ESC conferences (e.g. ESC Congress, ESC Digital Summit, EHRA, EACVI, ESC Preventive Cardiology) with high-quality symposia, poster sessions, workshops and other educational activities for implementation in the scientific programmes.

Our Working Group liaises closely with the ESC Digital Health Committee by co-organizing the scientific sessions and technology & innovation pitch presentations hosted in the Digital Health Area of the ESC Congress as well as the ESC Digital Summit. Both events host unique award opportunities for abstracts submitted  under the main topic E-Cardiology / Digital Health and for submissions to the Call for Technology & Innovation.

Retrieve the Working Group activities at ESC Congress

Collaboration with Computing in Cardiology

The Working Group on e-Cardiology is closely linked with the Computing in Cardiology (CinC) community, which manages the annual Computing in Cardiology meeting. The nucleus of the ESC Working Group on e-Cardiology and the Computing in Cardiology Board both host reciprocating representatives as ex-officio member. Every year, our WG co-sponsors the Clinical Needs Translational Award.

Collaboration with EHRA

The Working Group has a successful and productive collaboration with the European Heart Rhythm Association (EHRA), including contributions to the EHRA meeting by proposing sessions and symposia. The EHRA conference hosts the Digital Arrhythmia Day, which is co-organized by our Working Group, and the e-Cardiology Award session (only for abstracts submitted under the main topic E-Cardiology / Digital Health).

Collaboration with EACVI

The Working Group has established a successful and productive collaboration with the European Association of Cardiovascular Imaging (EACVI), including contributions to the annual EACVI congress by proposing sessions and symposia, and discounted fees for non-cardiologists members of our WG.

Meeting endorsement

The Working Group is open to give its endorsement to non-ESC meetings that can be considered of interest for its community. Expression of interest to receive this endorsement is welcome under the ESC Endorsement Policy.

Useful Links

Nucleus 2018-2020


Ass. Prof. Joost Lumens

Cardiovascular Research Institute Maastricht
Maastricht University
Universiteitssingel 50
PO Box 616 Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
NL-6200MD Maastricht – Netherlands



Dr. Polychronis Dilaveris, FESC

22 Miltiadou Str.
GR-155 61 Athens
Athens - Greece


Past-Chairperson & Web editor

Ass. Prof.  Enrico Gianluca Caiani

Web-editor & public relations, Dipartimento di Elettronica, Informazione e  Bioingegneria, Politecnico di Milano
Piazza L. Da Vinci 32
20133 Milano - Italy


to be confirmed


Prof. Rubén Casado Arroyo



Ordinary Nucleus members

Prof. Mamas Mamas

United Kingdom


Dr. Marco Di Rienzo



Dr. Theodore Papaioannou



Ass. Prof. Iana Simova



Dr. Magnus Thorsten Jensen



Ass. Prof. Nicolas Duchateau



Dr. Ines Frederix



Prof. Blanca Rodriguez

United Kingdom


Ex-Officio Nucleus members

Dr. Natasja de Groot


Prof. Gianfranco Parati


Prof. Pyotr Platonov


Previous Working Group chairpersons

Name Year
Enrico Caiani 2016-2018
Goran Krstacic 2014-2016
Marek Malik 2012-2014
Enno Van der Velde 2010-2012
Nico Bruining 2008-2010
Martin Höher 2006-2008
Willem Dassen 2004-2006
Peter Macfarlane 2002-2004
Johan H.C. Reiber 1999-2002