In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Committee for Young Cardiovascular Professionals


The ESC Board Committee for Young Cardiovascular Professionals is an integrated part of the ESC community, representing the full spectrum of cardiology.

The new committee aims to support the ESC mission by guiding and developing activities and products for young cardiovascular professionals.

Discover the members (2020-2022) below.


  • Dr. Allan Böhm (Slovakia), Chair of the Committee

Committee Members

  • Dr. Maria Rubini, FESC (Germany), Vice-Chair
  • Dr. Ricardo Ladeiras-Lopes (Portugal), NCS representative
  • Dr. Amina Rakisheva (Kazakhstan), NCS representative
  • Dr. Harri Silvola (Finland), NCS representative
  • Dr. Victoria Johnson (Germany), NCS deputy representative
  • Dr. Alberto Polimeni (Italy), NCS deputy representative
  • Dr. María Thiscal López (Spain), NCS deputy representative
  • Dr. Mahmoud Abdellatif (Austria/Egypt), Scientists of Tomorrow representative (Council on Basic Cardiovascular Science) 
  • Dr. Markus Anker (Germany), HFA Young representative 
  • Mrs. Britt Borregaard (Denmark), ACNAP Young representative
  • Dr. Silvia Castelletti (Italy), Working Group on Myocardial and Pericardial Diseases, Young representative
  • Dr. Claudio Cortes (France), Working Group Development, Anatomy and Pathology, Young representative
  • Dr. Pawel Gasior (Poland), EAPCI Young representative 
  • Dr. Rui Guerreiro (Portugal), Working Group Thrombosis Researchers, Young representative 
  • Dr. Harald T. Jorstad (Netherlands), EAPC Young representative 
  • Dr. Katarzyna Malaczynska-Rajpold (UK), EHRA Young representative 
  • Dr. Blazej Michalski (Poland), EACVI Young representative 
  • Dr. Patrick Sulzgruber (Austria), Working Group on Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy, Young representative 
  • Dr. Guido Tavazzi (Italy), ACVC Young representative  
  • Dr. Afzal Sohaib (UK), ESC Advisor
  • Prof. Stefan Agewall (Norway), ESC Senior Advisor