In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

ESC Education Committee


The ESC Education Committee is responsible for developing a range of independent, high quality educational products and programmes to meet the CME needs of the European cardiologist, cardiologists in training and physicians with an interest in cardiology. The emphasis is on educating and updating cardiologists on best clinical practice as exemplified in the ESC practice guidelines. CME accreditation for education resources is made available whenever possible and relevant.

Members of the Education Committee are appointed by the President of the Society for 2 years. Members are selected for their knowledge, commitment and interest in the field of education in cardiovascular medicine, as well as for their abilities to facilitate educational activities throughout Europe and on a national basis.

Read about the annual ESC Education Conference.

Education Committee 2016-2018


Paulus Kirchhof, Germany, United Kingdom    


  • Agnes Pasquet, Belgium
  • Alessandro Sionis, Spain
  • Anna Kontsevaya, Russia
  • Barbara Mulder, Netherlands
  • Davor Milicic, Croatia
  • Dipak Kotecha, United Kingdom
  • Eleni Kletsiou, Greece
  • Felix Tanner, Switzerland
  • Haran Burri, Switzerland
  • Ivo Van Der Bilt, Netherlands
  • Jesper Kjaergaard, Denmark
  • Jose Ramon Juanatey, Spain
  • Julia Grapsa, Greece
  • Kevin Fox, United Kingdom
  • Olivier Varenne, France
  • Patrick Verhost, Netherlands
  • Per Anton Sirnes, Norway
  • Peter Kearney, Ireland
  • Rafael Sadaba, Spain
  • Regina Ribeiras, Portugal
  • Stephan Baldus, Germany
  • Stephan von Haehling, Germany
  • Susanna Price, United Kingdom
  • Ulf Landmesser, Germany 
  • Lino Goncalves , Portugal (ex officio, advisor on accreditation)