In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

EACVI mutual recognition

The EAVCI’s mission is "To promote excellence in clinical diagnosis, research, technical development, and education in cardiovascular imaging in Europe". Fundamental to this aim is encouraging the development of a skilled, certified workforce. The EACVI Certification processes in adult TTE, TOE and CHD echocardiography have helped towards fulfilling this aim. 

Individuals who are echo certified with a national society that is mutually recognised will only have to sit and pass the corresponding EACVI exam and not have to submit a logbook in order to be fully EACVI certified.
Equally, reciprocity between national and European certifications would lead EACVI certified individuals from being exempted from the practical part of the national certification. The EACVI aim for such reciprocity.


Requirements to claim for mutual recognition

Candidates with a national certification from countries that are listed below do not need to submit a logbook and would obtain EACVI Certification by registering for and passing the examination.


Candidates from countries which are listed below may contact us and attach a copy of their national individual certification diploma/ certificate.

EACVI wishes to reserve the right to examine the candidate's log book or cases submitted for their national certification or records of the observed echoes in a practical exam.


Countries with a reciprocity agreement with EACVI:

National Societies

How to establish mutual recognition agreement with EACVI?

In extending certification, the EACVI wants to develop mutual recognition between national certification schemes and the EACVI certification processes. This is a two-way process that may need to develop in stages.
The process is as follows:

  1. Applicants must have learned how to echo.
  2. Applicants then have to pass an examination testing theoretical knowledge and their ability to report on images from echo studies.
  3. Finally, they must submit a logbook of reports of echos they have performed, a sample of which is graded by two external independent examiners.

Where a national certification process similarly involves:

  1. a written exam of reasonable quality
  2. evidence of practical experience that is externally examined (i.e. not only by the applicant's supervisor or main training department)
  3. external assessment of a logbook
  4. external assessment of sample cases including images or a practical examination where the candidates are observed undertaking echos by external assessors

The EACVI would exempt candidates holding this certification from the logbook element of the EACVI process.


In order to maintain quality control of such an arrangement, the EACVI wishes to reserve the right to examine the candidate's logbook or cases submitted for their national certification or records of the observed echoes in a practical exam.

Candidates would then be able to obtain EACVI certification by sitting and succeeding in the EACVI theoretical written examination only.

  1. Regulations and criteria for mutuality
  2. If a national society is considering developing such an agreement with the EACVI, please contact us

The EACVI Certification Committee Chairperson is Dr Mark Westwood until December 2018.

Should you need any further information on this topic, please contact us.