In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

ESC Working Group on Cellular Biology of the Heart

The ESC Working Group on Cellular Biology of the Heart is looking for active participants in the field of cellular biology and physiology of the heart.
Its aim is to bring together an active group of basic scientists and clinicians who can work together to develop translational research projects for identifying novel therapeutic targets for treating patients with heart disease.

Assoc. Prof. Joost P.G. Sluijter, FESC (Netherlands)
Chairperson 2016-2018

Aims and activities


  • The Working Group on the Cellular Biology of the Heart, as the major basic science working group of the ESC, has as its main objective, the promotion of basic science research in cardiology and encouraging links between clinical medicine and laboratory-based research.
  • The Working Group organises a significant proportion of the research symposia held each year at the societies annual meeting and regularly supports a number of other meetings and teaching programmes.