In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

ESC Working Group on Cardiovascular Regenerative and Reparative Medicine


The Mission of the ESC Working Group on Cardiovascular Regenerative and Reparative Medicine is to improve our knowledge and to develop therapies in this field through the synergy of basic discoveries and translational clinical efforts from dedicated centres all around the world, by:

  • Establishing the priorities and goals of discovery and development for the next decade,
  • (Re)defining cardiovascular regeneration-based advanced therapies
  • Attaining and disseminating an umbrella agreement on a common strategy to reinforce the field.

Francisco Fernández-Aviles (Spain)
Chairperson 2017-2019


To promote the progress in regenerating injured human organs, by leveraging collective efforts in basic discoveries, in the creation of better regenerative products and technologies, in better preclinical models, and in large clinical trials that will lead to rapid advances in the search for effective therapies in humans.

To promote a network of professionals, clinicians and scientists involved in the development and validation of advanced therapies for cardiovascular regeneration.

Nucleus 2020-2022


Prof. Stefan Janssens, MD, PhD
University Hospital Gasthuisberg of Leuven
Cardiovascular Diseases
49 Herestraat
Leuven 3000, Belgium
email address


Assoc. Prof. Giulio Pompilio, FESC
Centro Cardiologico Monzino IRCCS Scientific Direction 
CV Surgery
Via Parea 4, 20138 Milano
email address


Prof. Francisco Fernández-Avilés, MD, PhD, FESC
Servicio de Cardiología
H.G.U.Gregorio Marañón
Universidad Complutense de Madrid
C/ Dr. Esquerdo nº 46 Pabellón de Gobierno
28007 Madrid, Spain
email address

Secretary and Treasurer

Dr. Ricardo Sanz-Ruiz, MD, PhD
email address

Communication Coordinator

Prof. Joost Sluijter, FESC
Netherlands (The)
email address

Ordinary Nucleus Members

Prof. Phillippe Menasché, MD, PhD
email address

Prof. Jens Kastrup, MD, PhD, FESC
email address

Prof. Jonathan Leor, FESC
email address

Dr. Marie-Noelle Giraud
email address

Dr. Antje Ebert
email address

Prof. Nicola Smart, MD, PhD
Medical Sciences Division. Oxford University
United Kingdom
email address

Non-voting nucleus members

Prof. Lina Badimon, FESC

Associate Prof. Massimiliano Gnecchi

Prof. Anthony Mathur, FESC
United Kingdom