In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

ESC Working Group on Atherosclerosis & Vascular Biology

Vascular biology is the key to understanding the mechanisms of atherosclerosis, which remains the most frequent cause of cardiovascular disease. As such, atherosclerosis and vascular biology are inseparably linked in our search for better means of diagnosis, prevention and treatment of atherosclerosis. Novel tools and findings will further advance our knowledge and support our quest to reduce cardiovascular disease burden.

The Working Group on Atherosclerosis and Vascular Biology
is the ESC’s platform where clinical, basic and translational scientists come together to discuss and elaborate on novel findings and targets to bring clinical demands to the bench and new therapies to the patient.

The Working Group offers talented young scientists and clinicians a vibrant environment to flourish and exchange scientific ideas with colleagues from all over the world.

Nucleus 2020-2022


Prof. Marie-Luce Bochaton-Piallat, FESC
University of Geneva - Faculty of Medicine
Dept of Pathology & Immunology
1, Rue Michel-Servet
1211 Geneva - Switzerland
email address



Prof. Esther Lutgens, FESC
Medicial Biochemistry 
Meibergdreef 9, K1-110
1105 AZ Amsterdam - Netherlands (The)
email address



Prof. Magnus Bäck, FESC
Working Group Representative in ESC Council on Basic CV Science Board
Department Of Cardiology
Karolinska University Hospital
Cmm L803 17176 Stockholm –Sweden
email address



Prof. Giuseppe Danilo Norata
email address



Prof. Elena Osto, FESC
email address


Communication Coordinator

Prof. Konstantinos Stellos, FESC 
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
email address


Ordinary Nucleus members

Prof. Kim Van Der Heiden 

SoT-Working Group Liaison officer
Netherlands (The)
email address

Prof. Claudia Monaco
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
email address

Dr. Claudia Goettsch

email address

Prof. Rory R Koenen
The Netherlands
email address

Prof. Isabel Conçalves, FESC
email address

Prof. Menno De Winther
The Netherlands
email address


Ex-Officio nucleus members

Prof. Paul Evans, FESC
Working Group Representative in ESC Council on CV Genomics Board
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland


Prof. Lucia Mazzolai, FESC
ESC Working Group Aorta - PVD Representative


Prof. Delphine Gomez
American Heart Association – Arteriosclerosis Thrombosis and Vascular Biology Representative


Prof. Erik Stroes
The Netherlands