In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Viviane Conraads Outstanding Achievement Award

for established researchers

With this award, the EAPC honours a researcher member of the Association for outstanding accomplishments in the early stage of their career.


This award was established to recognise the contribution of Viviane Conraads, who was head of the Heart Failure Clinic of the University Hospital of Antwerp, and responsible for cardiac rehabilitation and the heart transplant program.

She played an important role in the EAPC as a nucleus member of the Exercise, Basic and Translational Research section and as the EAPC representative in the Congress Programme Committee.

Call for candidates - now closed

Every year, the EAPC honours an early-career researcher who has made a significant contribution to the preventive cardiology field with the EAPC Viviane Conraads Outstanding Achievement Award.

The award winner will be invited to present his/her research at ESC Preventive Cardiology, to be held from 15-17 April 2021.

Eligibility criteria

  • Submission open to EAPC members, below 45 years old at the time of the candidacy
  • Investigators involved in all areas of interests of EAPC who have recently established themselves as independent investigators
  • Investigators who sustained outstanding productivity over several years, resulting in a significant contribution to their chosen field and are expected to continue a successful career
  • Current board members / senior officers are not eligible for the award


Date Action
11/01/2021 Online application deadline - closed
January 2021 Evaluation by the EAPC Research Committee
End of January Final selection by the EAPC Board
03/02/2021 Feedback to candidates


Past Awardees


Dr. Maryam Kavousi

Kavousi-Maryam-2019.JPGMaryam Kavousi MD PhD is Associate Professor of Cardiovascular Epidemiology. She has trained as a family physician and cardiovascular epidemiologist. Her research comprises primary prevention of cardiovascular disease and in particular focusses on investigating sex and gender differences in the entire cardio-metabolic spectrum. Dr. Kavousi works together with various disciplines including clinical cardiology and internal medicine, basic science, bioinformatics, and biostatistics. These multidisciplinary efforts serve to identify and tackle the knowledge gaps in cardiovascular field in a timely manner.

Read more  


Professor Emanuele Di Angelantonio


Professor Di Angelantonio has contributed significantly to improvements in healthcare related to prevention of cardiovascular diseases (CVD). His work has helped resolve important clinical and public health controversies through its combination of powerful, systematic, and detailed analysis of prospective epidemiological data on CVD risk factors. 

Read more


Dr Trine Moholdt (Norway)

moholdt-trine-2018.JPGDr. Trine Moholdt is physiotherapist and PhD. She works as a research fellow at the Department of Circulation and Medical Imaging, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim, Norway. Dr Moholdt has contributed to the field of exercise as medicine in primary and secondary prevention of cardiovascular disease.


Professor Johan Sundström (Sweden)


Professor Sundström is Professor of Epidemiology at Uppsala University, Scientific Director of Uppsala Clinical Research Center (UCR), and works clinically at the Department of Cardiology of Uppsala University Hospital.



Professor Sanjay Sharma (United Kingdom)


Professor Sharma has been Professor of Inherited Cardiac Diseases and Sports Cardiology and Head of Cardiac Research Center, St George’s University of London since 2010.
His academic interests include sports cardiology, cardiomyopathies, ion channel disease and exercise physiology.


For more information, contact the EAPC Team