In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

EAPC Honorary Presidents’ Network

The ambassadors of the European Association of Preventive Cardiology

Why this network?

  • Past Presidents are the best EAPC ambassadors
  • They are the memory of our association
  • Their experience and knowledge are valued

Role of the EAPC Honorary Presidents

  • Advise the EAPC Board on strategic matters
  • Represent the EAPC at joint sessions at National Cardiac Society congresses and other scientific events
  • Serve as mentors during the EAPC Career Café at ESC Preventive Cardiology
  • Participate as faculty members at ESC Preventive Cardiology congresses

EAPC Honorary Presidents

EAPC President

Paul Dendale


EAPC President

Diederick Grobbee










EAPC President

Antonio Pelliccia










EAPC President

Stephan Gielen










EAPC President

P Giannuzzi, in memoriam

EAPC President

David Wood

EAPC President

Hugo Saner

EAPC President

Joep Perk, in memoriam


EAPC President

Guy De Backer








A history of the EAPC

Read the short history written by the EAPC Honorary Presidents about how the EAPC started and where it is now.

EAPC History (pdf)

Related article:

A short history of the European Association of Preventive Cardiology (EAPC)
Guy De Backer, Joep Perk, David Wood, Stephan Gielen, Antonio Pelliccia, Diederick Grobbee, Paul Dendale, Hugo Saner
European Journal of Preventive Cardiology, February 2022