In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

ESC Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee (CPG Committee)

The ESC Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee was established by the Board of the ESC at its second meeting in October 1994. 

The ESC Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPG) Committee considers innovative roles for the involvement of the ESC in new, health-related policies and in clinical practice, prevention, quality assurance, research programmes and health economics pertaining to cardiovascular disease.

The CPG Committee deals with the following activities:

  • Identification of new roles for the ESC in research and healthcare, in close contact with the Committee for European Affairs of the ESC.
  • Development of new targets to be addressed by the ESC and the strategies to achieve them. 
  • Supervision and monitoring the preparation of guidelines and recommendations by task forces, study groups or consensus panels to improve the practice of cardiology and to support research activities. 
  • Establishment and monitoring of inventories and registries, including activity preparation and motivation, monitoring of progress, coordination of related activities, as well as preparation and publication of results.

The committee is composed of members who are elected for a period of two years.

For further information, please contact 

ESC Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPG) Committee 2022-2024


Eva Prescott, FESC, Denmark


Stefan James, FESC, Sweden


  • Elena Arbelo, FESC, Spain
  • Colin Baigent, FESC, United Kingdom
  • Michael A. Borger, Germany
  • Sergio Buccheri, Sweden
  • Borja Ibanez, FESC, Spain
  • Lars Køber, FESC, Denmark
  • Konstantinos Koskinas, FESC, Switzerland
  • Bill McEvoy, Ireland
  • Borislava Mihaylova, United Kingdom
  • Richard Mindham, United Kingdom
  • Lis Neubeck, FESC, United Kingdom
  • Jens Cosedis Nielsen, FESC, Denmark
  • Agnes Pasquet, FESC, Belgium
  • Amina Rakisheva, Kazakhstan
  • Bianca Rocca, FESC, Italy
  • Xavier Rossello, Spain
  • Ilonca Vaartjes, Netherlands
  • Christiaan J.M. Vrints, FESC, Belgium
  • Adam Witkowski, FESC, Poland
  • Katja Zeppenfeld, FESC, Netherlands