In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

ESC Elections

Term 2016-2018

2016-2018 ESC Board, Nominating Committee and Audit Committee

The vote for the 2016-2018 term of the ESC Board, which will be presided by Prof. Jeroen Bax, FESC, has been concluded and results are now available below.

The ESC would like to express its thanks to all those healthcare professionals who stood up and volunteered to give their time and lead this unique society and drive forward scientific research, education, congresses and advocacy programmes that support our mission to reduce the burden of cardiovascular disease.

The Final Results For:

 ESC Board 2016-2018

President Elect:  1 position

  • Barbara CASADEI

Vice Presidents:  3 positions

  • Bela MERKELY
  • Lina BADIMON
  • Stefan ANKER

Secretary / Treasurer:  1 position

  • Ian GRAHAM

Councillors:  6 positions

  • Hector BUENO
  • Cecilia LINDE
  • Sarah CLARKE
  • Christophe LECLERCQ

 Nominating Committee

Representatives of National Societies:  6 positions

  • Keith FOX
  • Frans VAN DE WERF
  • Martin BORGGREFE
  • Kurt HUBER
  • Eva SWAHN

Representatives of Associations, Working Groups and Councils:  6 positions

  • Patrizio LANCELLOTTI
  • Antonio PELLICCIA
  • Andrew COATS
  • Christie DEATON
  • Martine GILARD

 Audit Committee

Representative of Associations, Working Groups and Councils:  1 position

  • Jose Lopez SENDON


If you have any questions or remarks, please don’t hesitate to contact me at

 Prof. Panos Vardas, FESC
 Chairman, Nominating Committee
 Past-President of the European Society of Cardiology