In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Fellows of the HFA

Join a select group and get recognition for your professional achievements.

The call for applicants closed on 31 October 2018.

All applicants will be informed by mail in December.

Accepted Fellows will be able to see their status in 'My Membership' in their MyESC account and they will become Fellows in January 2019 upon payment of the fee.


All Fellows of the HFA have the right to use FHFA after their name.

All Fellows of the HFA have the rights of HFA Gold Members and in addition will receive the print copy of European Journal of Heart Failure. 


“It is truly an honour to be a Fellow of the HFA. It motivates me to aim for excellence and continue to strive for higher standards throughout the rest of my career.“
Markus Wallner – Fellow of the HFA


Gold members can become Fellows of the HFA.


Candidate have to demonstrate their excellence in Heart Failure in at least one of these three domaines:  

  • Research at National and/or International Level
  • Teaching and Training
  • Clinical Care

Annual Fellowship Dues for Fellows of the HFA

288 Euros per Calendar year – from 1st January to 31 December

The due is to be paid once the Credential Committee has informed the candidates.

Elected Fellows in 2018

FHFA  @ HF2018

  • Abdallah Al-Mohammad, Barnsley, UK
  • Fahad Alsindi, Scarborough, UK
  • Erasmus Bachus, Malmo, SE
  • Marco Canepa, Genoa, IT
  • Agnieszka Ciarka, Leuven, BE
  • Martin Cowie, London, UK
  • Fayez Elsayed Abdelhamid El Shaer, Riyadh, SA
  • Mona Fiuzat, Durham, US
  • Jennifer Franke, Heidelberg, DE
  • Duska Glavas, Split, HR
  • Damien Gruson, Kraainem, BE
  • Tofig Jahangirov, Baku, AZ
  • Branimir Kanazirev, Varna, BG
  • Jo-Dee Lattimore, Sydney, AU
  • Krister Lindmark, Umea, SE
  • Fady Malik, San Francisco, US
  • Yagoub Marzoog Musa, Khartoum, SD
  • Paul Josef Mohacsi, Bern, CH
  • Marcelo Montera, Rio de Janeiro, BR
  • Clare Murphy, Glasgow, UK
  • Margarita Peradejordi Lastras, Buenas Aires, AR
  • Piero Pollesello, Espoo, FI
  • Aaron Sverdlov, Newcastle, AU
  • Liana Tumasyan, Yerevan, AM
  • Dilek Ural, Istanbul, TR
  • Stephan Von Haehling, Berlin, DE

Fellows elected in previous years

  • Christopher Adlbrecht
  • Petros Agathangelou
  • Mohammad Al Qahtani
  • Hakan Altay
  • Johann Altenberger
  • Giuseppe Ambrosio
  • Christina Angermann
  • Markus Anker
  • Stefan Anker
  • Vassilis Barberis
  • Eduardo Barge Caballero
  • Johann Bauersachs
  • Antoni Bayes Genis
  • James Beattie
  • Reinaldo Bestetti
  • Hans-Peter Brunner-La Rocca
  • Javed Butler
  • Yuksel Cavusoglu
  • Jelena Celutkiene
  • Ovidiu Chioncel
  • Andrew Coats
  • Justien Cornelis
  • Maria G Crespo-Leiro
  • Domenico D'amario
  • Kevin Damman
  • Constantinos Davos
  • Rudolf De Boer
  • Giuseppe Di Stolfo
  • Dimitar Divchev
  • Hans-Dirk Duengen
  • Urs Eriksson
  • Hasan Ali Farhan Al Alfarhan
  • Gerasimos Filippatos
  • Andreas Flammer
  • Maria Frigerio
  • Joe Gallagher
  • Martin Jesus Garcia Gonzalez
  • Roy Gardner
  • Nicolas Girerd
  • Aggeliki Gkouziouta
  • Veli-Pekka Harjola
  • Tal Hasin
  • Mahmoud Hassanein
  • Stephane Heymans
  • Arno Hoes
  • Martin Huelsmann
  • Ewa Jankowska
  • Georgios Karagiannis
  • Mitja Lainscak
  • Jose Luis Lambert Rodriguez
  • Ekaterini Lambrinou
  • Adelino Leite-Moreira
  • Gerard Linssen
  • Yury Lopatin
  • Lars Lund
  • Alexander Lyon
  • Christoph Maack
  • Aldo Maggioni
  • Amam Mbakwem
  • Theresa McDonagh
  • Alexandre Mebazaa
  • Wouter Meijers
  • Gustavo Mendez Machado
  • Marco Metra
  • Deddo Moertl
  • Andrea Mortara
  • Michel Noutsias
  • Agostinho Nunes Pereira Da Silva
  • Elmir Omerovic
  • Christos Pantsios
  • J David Parker
  • Massimo Francesco Piepoli
  • Burkert Pieske
  • Gerhard Poelzl
  • Piotr Ponikowski
  • Naresh Ranjith
  • Jillian Riley
  • Giuseppe M C Rosano
  • Stuart Rosen
  • Frank Ruschitzka
  • Clara Saldarriaga
  • Ibrahim Sari
  • Gianluigi Savarese
  • Konstantinos Savvatis
  • Petar Seferovic
  • Hadi Skouri
  • Randall Starling
  • John Teerlink
  • Thomas Thum
  • Carlo Gabriele Tocchetti
  • Steven Tsui
  • Peter Van Der Meer
  • Marc Vanderheyden
  • Ola Vedin
  • Markus Wallner
  • Jean Marc Weinstein
  • Mehmet Birhan Yilmaz

Interested in joining the prestigious Fellowship Community?

Application Process

  • Self nomination via link below
  • Nominee should be seconded by their Heart Failure National Society President
  • References should be provided by Heart Failure National Societies
  • All documents will then be considered by the HFA Credential Committee

Documents to supply

  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Letter from Heart Failure National Society President
  • One other reference (from someone of the fellow's choosing)

Both references should state the case for why a fellowship should be conferred.


  • List of relevant Publications/List of relevant Grants
  • Or Evidence of teaching innovation
  • Or Clinical care-service development

Please note that all documents must be provided in English.