In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

HFA Winter Meeting awards

Young Investigator Award and Guido Tarone Award winners

Find out more about presenting abstracts at the Winter Meeting by hearing from previous winners of the Young Investigator Award and Guido Tarone Award:


Guido Tarone Award winners


Abdellatif Mahmoud (Graz, AT) for "Fine-tuning of cardiac IGF1 signalling improves cardiac health and extends lifespan".

Abdellatif Mahmoud - Guido Tarone







Ralf Gilsbach (Freibrug, DE) for ''The identification and functional (epi)genetic modulation of chromatin interactions in cardiac myocytes''.


Maarten van den Hoogenhof (Amsterdam, NL) for "RBM20 mutations induce an arrhythmogenic dilated cardiomyopathy related to disturbed calcium handling".


Marco Mongillo (Padova, IT) for "Dynamics of neuro-effector coupling at cardiac sympathetic synapses".


Ellen Dirkx (Trieste, IT) for "Targeting the miRNA-106b-25 cluster as a potential regenerative therapeutic approach for myocardial injury".

Young Investigator Award winners


Alessio Alogna (Berlin, Germany) for "Inhalation of peptide-loaded nanoparticles improves cardiac function in pacing-induced heart failure".


Ruping Chen (Wuerzburg, DE) for ''Mechanistic insights of the p.L13R mutation in the inner nuclear membrane
protein Lemd2 leading to cardiomyopathy associated with arrhythmias''.


Victoria Mauz (Heidelberg, DE) for "Type II protein arginine methyltransferases are required for cardiac integrity and metabolic adaptation to stress".

Victoria Mauz - Winner 1.jpg



Hashim Ali (Trieste, IT) for "The ubiquitin ligase TRIM35 is a novel restriction factor for cardiomyocyte proliferation".


  • Daniel Brayson (London, UK) for "Prelamin A toxicity drives 'inflammaging' of the myocardium: a mechanism for multiple cardiomyopathies".
  • Edoardo Bertero (Wurzburg, DE) for "Down regulation of the mitochondrial calcium uniporter hinders cardiac energy supply-and-demand matching in Barth syndrome".


Mahmoud Abdellatif (Graz, AT) for "The natural autophagy-inducer spermidine protects the aging heart and promotes longevity in mice".

Runners up

  •  Karoline Bjarnesdatter Rypdal (Oslo, NO) for "The secret glycoprotein ADAMTSL2 is up-regulated in heart failure and directs anti-fibrotic signalling".

Karoline Bjarnesdatter - runner up.jpg











  •  Tim Rubben Eijgenraam (Groningen, NL) for "A novel mouse model of phospholamban p.Arg14del cardiomyopathy develops heart failure with protein aggregation and is unresponsive to common heart failure drugs".

Tim Ruben - runner up.jpg

  •  Arwa Kohela (Utrecht, NL) for "Epicardial contribution to arrhythmogenic cardiomyopathy"
  • Justine Dontaine (Louvain, BE) for "New paradigm for cardiac hypertrophy prevention"
  • Stephen Gray (London, UK) for "The mitochondrial unfolded protein response protects the heart during chronic pressure overload"
  • Ellen Dirkx (Trieste, IT) for "High throughput small molecules screen identifies the neuroactive alkaloid harmine as an inducer of cardiomyocyte proliferation".
  • Maxance Ribeiro (Paris, FR) for "New role of EPAC in the Anthracyclines-induced cardiotoxicity".


Award winners from the 2018 HFA Winter Meeting with Prof. Rudolf de Boer (meeting coordinator) and Prof. Christoph Maack (chair of poster session jury). 

2018 YIA & G Tarone award winners WRM_small.jpg

From left to right: Prof. Rudolf de Boer (NL), Maarten van den Hoogenhof (NL), Stephen Gray (UK), Daniel Brayson (UK), Edoardo Bertero (IT), Christoph Maack (DE)