In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

HFA Lifetime Achievement Awards

An honour given annually, during the Heart Failure congress, for significant contributions to heart failure science.

Heart Failure 2023


Heart Failure 2022


Heart Failure 2021


  • Prof. Milton Packer (Dallas, US)
  • Prof. Sian E. Harding (London, UK)

Heart Failure 2020


  • Prof. Kenneth Dickstein (Stavanger, NO)
  • Prof. Douglas Mann (St Louis, US)

Heart Failure 2019


Heart Failure 2018


Heart Failure 2017


Heart Failure 2016


Heart Failure 2015


  • Prof. Eugene Braunwald (Boston, US) - First Honorary Eugene Braunwald Lecture: The path to an angiotensin receptor antagonist: neprilysin inhibitor
  • Prof. Henry Dargie (Glasgow, UK) - Lecture: Towards effective heart failure treatment - a tale of two cities

Heart Failure 2014

  • Prof. Peter Libby (Boston, US) - Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Prof. Finn Waagstein (Gothenburg, SE) - Lifetime Achievement Award

Heart Failure 2013

  • Prof. Dirk Brutsaert (Kontich, BE) - Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Prof. Bertram Pitt (Michigan, US) - Lifetime Achievement Award

Heart Failure 2011

  • Prof. John Kjekshus (Oslo, NO) - Lifetime Achievement Award