In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

European Cardiac Resynchronisation Therapy Survey

The primary objective of this survey is to describe current European practice based on a representative sampling in 13 countries

The European Cardiac Resynchronisation Therapy survey (CRT) is a joint initiative between the European Heart Rhythm Association (EHRA) and the Heart Failure Association (HFA), Registered Branches of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC).

The survey is performed in collaboration with The Institut für Herzinfarktforschung in Ludwigshafen which manages data collection and analysis. A streamlined electronic CRF captures essential data describing current European practice with regard to CRT-P/CRT-D therapy for heart failure.

Approximately 30,000 CRT devices were implanted in Europe in 2007. The 13 countries chosen are responsible for approximately 90% of these implantations. The survey started on 1 November 2008 and has ended 30 June 2009.

The total number of patients enrolled was 2,438. Follow-up is ongoing. 

European cardiac resynchronization therapy survey: rationale and design.

Bibliography :

Read the full article published in the European Journal of Heart Failure 

The article published in the European Heart Journal, including its commentary

and The Article recently published on the Clinical Research

Download the Site QuestionnaireeCRF  and the Protocol.

Access the CRF online demo here (username: crt.demo /password: password1

Survey Progress

Advantages for investigators:

  • Online national and international benchmarking
  • Investigators will participate in the publication process
  • Creation of a European Network for future collaboration

Scientific Committee

Kenneth Dickstein, FESC (HFA Coordinator)
Silvia Priori, FESC (EHRA Coordinator)
Angelo Auricchio, FESC
Josep Brugada Terradellas, FESC
John Cleland, FESC
Geneviève Derumeaux, FESC
Daniel Gras
Michel Komajda, FESC
Cecilia Linde, FESC
John Morgan, FESC
Dirk Jan van Veldhuisen, FESC
Anselm Gitt, FESC
Nigussie Bogale

National Coordinators

Belgium Italy  Sweden 

Marc Goethals
Johan Vijgen

Marco Metram FESC
Maurizio Gasparini

Hans Persson, FESC
Fredrik Gadler, FESC
France Netherlands Switzerland

Jean Noel Trochum FESC
Daniel Gras

Alexander Maass
Luc Jordaens, FESC
Hans Peter Brunner-La Rocca, FESC 
Stefan Osswald, FESC
Germany Spain  United Kingdom
Michael Kindermann
Christoph Stellbrinkm FESC
Juan Delgado
Lluis Mont, FESC
Ian Squire
John Morgan, FESC
Austria Israël Ireland
Friedrich Fruhwaldm FESC
Bernard Strohmer
Tuvia Ben Gal
Michael Glikson, FESC
Ken McDonald
David Keane

Alf Inge Larsenm FESC
Svein Færestrand