In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Prof. Sanjay Sharma to receive the 1st Viviane Conraads Outstanding Achievement Award for Established Researchers

The EACPR Board and Science Committee are pleased to announce that the first Award will be presented to Professor Sanjay Sharma (London, UK) for his achievements and significant contributions in the field of Sports Cardiology.

Risk Factors and Prevention

Professor Sharma is Professor of Inherited Cardiac Diseases and Sports Cardiology and Head of Cardiac Research Center, St George’s University of London since 2010. 
His academic interests include Sports Cardiology, Cardiomyopathies, Ion channel disease and Exercise Physiology.

His contribution to the understanding of the athlete’s heart include:

  • Characterisation the athlete’s heart in adolescent individuals.
  • Comprehensive description of the cardiovascular adaptation in athletes of African/afro-Caribbean origin.
  • Guidelines to improve the sensitivity and specificity for improving the interpretation of the athlete’s ECG.
  • In-depth analysis of a long QT interval in highly trained athletes.
  • Description of the role of cardiopulmonary exercise testing in differentiating athlete’s heart from hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.  
  • Report on the determinants of functional capacity in hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.
  • Characterisation of right ventricular adaptation in highly trained black and white athletes.
  • Study of the potential mechanisms behind isolated left ventricular non compaction criteria in young athlete.

Professor Sharma established a unique nationally ranked sports cardiology service caring for athletes throughout the UK, serving professional and amateur athletes from several national sporting organisations including the English institute of Sport. He also leads the largest screening programme for cardiac diseases in young persons aged 14-35 years old in the UK, through Cardiac Risk in the Young.  This programme screens 20,000 individuals for potentially serious cardiac diseases each year since 2011.

Professor Sharma is the Chairperson of the EACPR sports Cardiology section, and a member of the ESC Congress Programme Committee. He was appointed lead cardiologist for 2012 London Olympics and is Chairman of the expert cardiac committee for the British Football Association. Since 2007, Professor Sharma is also Medical Director of the Virgin London Marathon.

A prolific investigator, Professor Sharma is a highly published author in major peer reviewed journals. His expertise makes him one of the most sought-after international lecturers in Sports Cardiology.

About the Award

This outstanding achievement award for established researchers was created in memory of Dr Viviane Conraads, distinguished EACPR member, head of the Heart Failure Clinic of the University Hospital of Antwerp and nucleus member of the EACPR Exercise, Basic and Translational Research section.  
The Award will be handed-over at the occasion of the EuroPRevent Awards Ceremony on 16 May 2015 in Lisbon.