In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Epicardial/Hybrid Atrial Fibrillation Ablation Registry (EHAFAR)

Atrial Fibrillation

Objectives and characteristics of the study

TeHAFAR page image

This registry is sponsored by EHRA

To describe the diagnostic and therapeutic approaches used in routine practice when performing Epicardial/Hybrid Atrial Fibrillation Ablation (EHAFA) procedures.


  • To describe the clinical indications and demographics of patients undergoing an EHAFA procedure and the diagnostic/therapeutic processes (technical aspects, ways to measure the success, acute and chronic outcomes/complications) applied in the case of these patients, across Europe.To evaluate the acute and long-term outcomes (safety/complications) of patients undergoing an EHAFA procedure.
  • To evaluate how the acute and long-term outcome and/or success is assessed in practice following an EHAFA procedure.
  • To assess to what extent and which type of electrophysiological measurements are used during surgery, to include confirmation of PVI and conduction block across lesions with mapping.
  • To assess to what extent and which type of anticoagulation is used after the procedure, and whether or not the left atrial appendage is removed.
  • To assess to which types of instruments and lesions sets are used.


This study is planning to include at least 30 centres and 350 patients, homogeneously distributed across Europe (North, South, East and West).

Study Organisation

The ESC Association initiating and sponsoring this registry is the European Heart Rhythm Association (EHRA).

The Executive Committee of the registry is co-chaired by Professors Laurent Pison and Mark La Meir.


Executive Committee

  • Laurent Pison, NL, Co-Chair
  • Mark La Meir, BE, Co-Chair
  • Nicolas Doll, DE
  • Thierry Folliguet, FR
  • Lluís Mont Girbau, ES
  • Ales Mokracek, CZ
  • Carina Blomström Lundqvist, SE

The Executive Committee members are also working as Regional Coordinators, responsible for one or more participating countries.

View all ongoing ESC Registries