In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Details about the Editors' Network initiative

History and Background

At the occasion of the ESC Congress 2005 in Stockholm, some of the National Societies Cardiovascular Journals (NSCJ) Editors-in-Chief gathered to discuss the possibilities of optimising the collaboration and spreading of info from the ESC (mainly Guidelines). A forum made up of the ESC NSCJ Editors-in-Chief and initiated by Prof. Panos Vardas, the Editor-in-Chief of the Hellenic Journal of Cardiology became a reality. It was decided the Editors would meet yearly on the occasion of the ESC Congress.

At their meeting in 2006 during the WCC in Barcelona, a Task Force was created to ensure activities also in between congresses. Chaired by Prof. Ernst E. Van der Wall (NL), the initial Task Force also counted Professors Fernando Alfonso (ES), Giuseppe Ambrosio (IT), and Fausto J. Pinto (PT), all Editors-in-Chief of their national NSCJ.

An initial and important effort of the Task Force was to collect information about the ESC NSCJ. This was done in close collaboration with the European Heart House National Societies Office team. All pertinent information about each journal was gathered via a comprehensive questionnaire and the national NSCJ Editorial offices put a considerable effort in sharing their details for the benefit of this networking initiative. 

Publication of the Constitution Document

The major outcome from the Task Force of the Editors' Club was the production of a “Constitution Document”, the Background, Rationale and Mission Statement of the “Editors’ Club”, written in order to set the basis for future collaboration among NSCJ Editors.

The target was to produce and issue a core document with fundamental principles upon which all NSCJ Editors would agree. Common goals have been identified and agreed on measures will be pursued. This constitution document is, therefore, a formalisation of the NSCJ Editors´ Club Task Force.

During the summer of 2008, this constitution document was published simultaneously in the majority of the NSCJ in English and/or national language, so far in 39 journals. This is the first time a publication of this character has been carried out within the ESC and with great success and interest.

Some NSCJ published in both the national language and in English, others chose a web-based publication supported by a comment article in their printed version, while others went to the extent of issuing a supplement entirely dedicated to the article. The Task Force is very grateful to the NSCJ Editors for the amount of involvement and dedication in the project!

Task force recruitment

At the occasion of the ESC Congress 2008 Editors’ meeting, the composition of the Task Force was altered to include additional Editors, aiming to involve as many different types of journals and have a greater geographic diversity (see members of the task force on the main page).

A new phase

The initiative has been formally approved and recognised by the ESC Board (autumn 2008). Dr Steen Dalby Kristensen, FESC, ESC Vice President for National Societies and Fellowship is responsible for reporting on the initiatives at the ESC Board level, which fully integrated the organisation under the umbrella of the ESC Membership department. 

April 2009: Upon decision by the Task Force the initiative will henceforth be referred to as the NS Editors Network

The ESC Congress 2009 introduced the session "Meet the Editors"

This new special session was dedicated to discussing relevant editorial issues and organised in cooperation with the Editors' Network.

Meet the Editors: insights and challenges
Monday 31 August 2009, 10:05-10:55, Room Brussels - Zone 4
Chairpersons: S D Kristensen, FESC (Aarhus, DK) and E E Van der Wall, FESC (Leiden, NL)

The Editors' Club initiative - an ESC task force - P E Vardas, FESC (Heraklion, GR)
National Society Cardiovascular Journals. Data and current status - G Ambrosio, FESC (Perugia, IT) - replaced by F Alfonso
Mission statement document. Summary and joint publication initiative - F Alfonso Manterola, FESC (Madrid, ES)
The role of editors in CME. New proposals - A D Timmis, FESC (London, GB)

New Chair:

Following a long and successful term as Editors’ Network chairman, Professor Fernando Alfonso was succeeded during ESC Congress 2020 by Professor Ignacio Ferreira Gonzalez, Editor-in-Chief of Revista Espagnola di Cardiologia.

Now, the new chairman is Doctor Jean-Jacques Monsuez, Editor-in-Chief of Archives des maladies du cœur et des vaisseaux Pratique and is elected for 2 years.

Two new positions also have been created to champion the below topics within the Editors’ Network:

• Young Community Representatives:
    Doctor Vamos Mate
    Professor Dilek Ural

• ESC Guidelines Dissemination
   Professor Dimitris Tousoulis
   Professor Evgeny Shlyakhto

The next elections will take place in 2023 for the mandate 2024-2026.