In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Council of Cardio-Oncology election for 2024-2026

For 2024 to 2026

The following positions are vacant within the Council for the period 2024-2026:

- Chairperson Elect
- Treasurer
- Secretary
- Liaison Officer
- Communications Coordinator
- Nucleus Member x 3

Discover the candidates 

Chairperson Elect

Professor Peter Van Der Meer - View his application


Professor Jeroen Bax - View his application

Professor Jutta Bergler-Klein - View her application


Associate Professor Pietro Ameri - View his application

Liaison Officer

Associate Professor Dimitrios T Farmakis - View his application

Communications Coordinator

Associate Professor Sebastian Szmit - View his application
Doctor Mariana Mirabel - View her application
Doctor Arjun Kumar Ghosh - View his application
Doctor Kalliopi Keramida - View her application

Nucleus Member x 3

Doctor Geeta Gulati - View her application
Associate Professor Zaza Iakobishvili - View her application
Professor Ninian Nicholas Lang - View his application
Associate Professor Giuseppina Novo - View her application
Doctor Ciro Santoro - View his application
Doctor Hadi Skouri - View his application 
Doctor Arco Teske - View his application

Eligibility criteria

  • Candidates must be members of the Council on Cardio-Oncology
  • Only Council members whose place of work is an ESC member country can be elected to Nucleus positions
  • Persons who, if elected, will hold simultaneously positions on Nuclei/Boards of other ESC Constituent Bodies, are not eligible 
  • Limitations of cumulative positions within the ESC: In order to ensure a renewal within the ESC and a good internal functioning, an officer may not hold more than three leadership positions at the same time
  • Limitation of representation within ESC Constituent Bodies: for the duration of their mandates, nucleus members cannot simultaneously hold another position as an elected Nucleus / Board Member in an ESC Association, Working Group or another Council, unless if co-opted in a non-voting position
  • Limitations of years of service within a nucleus: Council nucleus members may remain on one same nucleus a maximum of 12 years (consecutive or not).
  • All candidates must be a member of the same council at the time of the application deadline, 31 March 2024, and still have a valid membership on 27 May 2024.

Read the Governance rules


31 March: deadline application

27 April: announcement of final candidate slate

2-27 May: e-voting

15 June: announcement of elections results