In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Board of the ESC Council on Stroke

The Nucleus (2022-2024)

The Council is led by a Nucleus that is elected in agreement with ESC statutes and by-laws and the Council constitution.

Nucleus Members:

Alison Halliday_2018.jpg

Alison Halliday (United Kingdom)




Gregory Lip FESC (United Kingdom)




Jan Kovac FESC (United Kingdom)




Sandor Nardai FESC (Hungary)


George Ntaios.jpg

George Ntaios (Greece)



Dimitrios Nikas - Stroke.jpg

Dimitrios Nikas (Greece)

National Contacts Coordinator


Marco Proietti - Stroke.jpg

Marco Proietti (Italy)

Education & Scientific Programme Coordinator


Pateleimon konstantinou.jpg

Panteleimon Papakonstantinou (Greece)

Communications & Young Community Coordinator



Renate Schnabel (Germany)

Liaison Officer

Ex-officio Board Members

The Board is completed with ex-officio representatives from ESC Associations, Working Groups and Councils as well as from external stroke and neurological societies.

The ex-officio Board Members 2022-2024

Name Country Organisation
Theodore Karapanayotides Greece European Stroke Organisation (ESO)
Richard Bulbulia United Kingdom European Society for Vascular Surgery (ESVS)
Jeroen Boogaarts Netherlands European Association of Neurosurgical Societies (EANS)    
Wim.H Van Zwam Netherlands European Society of Minimally Invasive Neurological Therapy (ESMINT)
Matthias Endres Germany European Academy of Neurology (EAN)
Eva Gerdts Norway Council on Hypertension
Thomas Kumler Denmark Council for Cardiology Practice
Arsen Ristic Serbia Heart Failure Association
Dariusz Dudek   European Association of Percutaneous Cardiovascular Interventions
Michael Kuhne Switzerland European Heart Rhythm Association
Panteleimon Papakonstantinou Greece European Association of Preventive Cardiology
Edip Gurol   American Heart Association
Allan Bohm Slovakia Young Cardiovascular Professionals
Wolfram Doehner Germany Ex-officio member