In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Enhance your research and your career with an EACVI Research Grant


Prof. Marta Cvijic.jpg

Dr. Marta Cvijic

The EACVI offers one-year Research Grants of €25,000 to help candidates to obtain a research experience in a high-standard academic centre in an ESC Member country other than their own.

Winner of an EACVI Research Grant in 2018, Doctor Marta Cvijic (University Medical Center Ljubljana, Slovenia) is currently spending a year at the Medical Imaging Research Centre, Leuven, Belgium, investigating high frame rate imaging for diastolic function assessment. She described the honour and benefits of receiving the award: “For me, it is a great privilege to receive an EACVI Research Grant. It is a very good opportunity for young cardiologists who are focussed on research to learn new techniques and become familiar with a well-developed research environment, which may not be available in their own country. Having the opportunity to work in such a high-tech research setting is a great chance to enhance and develop new skills and also to create new contacts that will help in my future career.”

“I am honoured to be able to spend time at the Medical Imaging Research Centre, Leuven, which is one of the leading cardiology centres and a place where many new echocardiographic techniques are being developed. For the moment, there are only a few labs in the world which enable the use of high frame echocardiography. It is a wonderful opportunity to interact closely with experienced cardiologists and engineers in the same excellent research team. I would like to thank EACVI for the grant as well as Professor Jens-Uwe Voigt and Professor Jan D’hooge for building enthusiastic research groups.”