European Society of Cardiology
Skip navigation links
About the ESC
Guidelines & Surveys
Welcome to the European Society of Cardiology. Our mission: to reduce the burden of cardiovascular disease in Europe
EHRA Certification

Invasive Cardiac Electrophysiology

Certification examination organised by the European Heart Rhythm Association (EHRA) for electrophysiology (EP)

The EHRA exam in electrophysiology is intended to test the knowledge, experience, clinical expertise and proficiency of physicians specialising in the treatment of patients suffering from cardiac arrhythmias. Together with the EHRA logbook of interventional procedures/operations performed under supervision of senior colleagues, it provides the basis for EHRA certification in electrophysiology.

In order to encourage a high standard of knowledge and clinical expertise and to enable physicians to provide their patients with the best and most advanced standard of treatment, we envisage a successful EHRA certification process to serve as a sign of excellence for the physician. To achieve and maintain the level of quality of the examination we continuously focus our efforts on improving the number, content, layout, and statistical power of the questions.

We strongly recommend physicians who intend to enter the EHRA certification process to acquire a sufficient amount of knowledge and clinical experience before attending the EHRA exam

A short questionnaire asking for details of the candidates’ clinical background will be part of the registration process for the exam.

The next EHRA EP exam
will be held on 23 June 2015 during the EHRA EUROPACE - CARDIOSTIM congress in Milan, Italy.

First time fee


Re-sit fee


(Please note: these fees apply to members and non-members)

Registration to this exam is now available until 15 June 2015 (included).

To register, click on the register button below (you will be requested to fill out your MyESC account credentials).

Registration is taken under 1st come 1st served basis: 101 seats left

Exam will take place at:

MiCo Milano Congressi
Piazzale Carlo Magno, 1
20149 Milan, Italy

Requirements | Examination process | Documents to submitHow to prepare

Cancellation policy

If candidates wishes to cancel their registration for the exam they will need to email

  • Up to 2 weeks before exam takes place - 100% refund
  • After 2 weeks* - 50% refund
  • No show - No refund

*In the event of illness or other serious unforeseen circumstances a letter of proof will be required and the full amount refunded.

If EHRA is to cancel the exam, the full registration fee will be refunded. However, EHRA is not liable for any cost incurred by the cancellation of accommodation and travel arrangements.


Those interested in taking a certification exam will be asked, during the registration process, to provide:
  • Copy of their medical diploma (MD) issued by a National Health Authority (sent as pdf document labelled to their name - ie: MD_Name-Surname)
To achieve certification as an EHRA certified electrophysiology specialist (ECES) candidate must complete the 2 levels:
  1. Level 1: Pass the exam(in English) consisting of multiple choice questions, held during one of EHRA's annual meetings - EHRA EUROPACE or Cardiostim.  
  2. Level 2: Pass the exam and document practical experience: Once the exam is passed a Logbook must be submitted 3 years* after sitting the exam.

*The requirements will change for candidates sitting the exam from 2014. Please see below.

1 - The exam

The examination is designed to be completed in 2 consecutive parts 3 hours each, with a 60 minute lunch break:
  • 9:00 - 12:00: 1st part
  • 12:00 - 13:00: Lunch break (lunch is provided by EHRA)
  • 13:00 - 16:00: 2nd part

EHRA reserves the right to modify the above schedule if required. If traveling after the exam, we strongly recommend candidates to plan for after exam late flights (not before 8:00 pm).

Participants are required to sign in at least 30 minutes before the start of the exam for check-in and to present:
  • Their information letter (sent during registration process)
  • Identity card/Passport to confirm their identity
After the exam participants will have to hand in all their exam material and sign out.

The questionnaire is compiled by the EHRA Certification Committee, and consists of a 130 multiple-choice questions.

Questions are based on the analysis of practical clinical cases and decision making (60-80%), with the remaining dedicated to theoretical questions.
10 questions out of the 130 are back up questions and are used for internal processes.

There is no appeal procedure after the examination. Candidates who have failed the exam cannot re-sit the exam before a period of time of 11 months.

Exam results are sent by email 2 months after the exam is sat.
Upon successful completion of the exam, candidates will receive an ECES Level 1 Certificate valid for 10 years.  

2 - The logbook

Once candidates have passed the exam (achieving Level 1), they can then apply for Level 2 by proving their practical experience in the field. 

Documents to submit 

For completion of the certification process after having successfully passed the exam:

  • Letter of Endorsement from the National Society
  • Letter of support from a Supervisor - Template 
  • The Logbook - EP-List-Procedure

Candidates must submit their logbook through the e-Logbook platform. Access to the e-Logbook is granted to the candidate upon passing the exam only.

As a security, candidates must keep a copy of their logbook.

Content of the Logbook

Candidates have to perform:

  • 200 procedures - at least 100 should be ablation procedures

Experience should be gathered over 3 consecutive years - from 3 years before up to 3 years after sitting the exam.

This means that candidates can start compiling their logbook before sitting the exam if they wish. Moreover, they are allowed to submit it until the 31 December of 3 years after the exam (if the exam is the 6 June 2013, the logbook can be submitted until 31 December 2016).

The logbook must be sent as an e-Logbook. Access to the e-logbook platform is granted to the candidate only after having successfully passed the written exam. 

A grader from the EHRA certification committee will grade the logbook. The review process should take around 2 months. The final results are sent by email.

Upon successful completion of the logbook process, candidates will receive an ECES Level 2 Certificate valid for 10 years.

For candidates sitting exams from 2014:
The following items have to be performed within a period of 24 consecutive months - these 24 months can be taken any time from 2 years before up to 2 years after the date of the exam:

  • 100 diagnostic EP studies (standalone or prior to ablation)
  • 100 catheter ablations as first operator. These must consist of
    • 50 standard ablation including His bundle - max 5
    • AVNRT - min 15, max 25
    • AVRT - min 15, max 25
    • RA atrial tachycardias - min 5, max 10
    • cavo-tricuspid atrial flutter - min10, max 25
    • idiopathic RVOT VT - min 5, max 10 
    • 50 complex ablation at least 30 of which are atrial fibrillation ablation - including transseptal puncture. 

How to prepare for the examination

EHRA offers the possibility to follow Educational Courses. Attending the courses may also enable participants to get further knowledge to sit and pass the certification examination.

Topic distribution of the examination questions

Core Curriculum

Download a copy of the Core Curriculum.

Sample Questions

To view samples of exam questions, please see:
 EP Sample Questions.


For any information on the EHRA Certification examinations, please Contact Us.