In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

European Affairs Committee

The European Affairs Committee is responsible for making sure that Cardiovascular Health is considered a key priority by decision makers across the European Union.

Frans Van de Werf


  • Maria Angeles Alonso Garcia
  • Stefan Anker
  • Lina Badimon
  • Martin Cowie
  • Alan Fraser
  • Pantaleo Giannuzzi
  • Eva Gonçalvesova
  • Aldo Maggioni
  • Nikos Maniadakis
  • Axel Pries
  • Silvia Priori
  • Karin Sipido
  • Lars Wallentin

Ad-hoc Experts

  • Jane Armitage
  • Eric Butchart
  • Robert Byrne
  • Enrico Caiani
  • Johan De Sutter
  • Pieter Doevendans
  • Stefan James
  • Josef Kautzner
  • Martin Landray
  • Raphael Rosenhek
  • Piotr Szymanski


  • Prevention:  stimulating the development of national strategies to combat heart disease, while providing practical tools to act both at population and  individual level.
  • Research: improving the standards of cardiovascular research in Europe through the identification and promotion of unmet research needs and priorities.
  • Regulatory affairs: establishing an open dialogue and exchange with European regulatory authorities on cardiovascular regulatory aspects.
  • Registries: ensuring political support to the development of comparable CVD data in the European Union
  • e-Health: favour the develoment of ICT tools and services for cardiovascular health