In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Two columns page  

Prevention in your Country

Regular reports written by cardiovascular prevention experts from ESC member countries

The EACPR publishes CVD prevention reports to facilitate the sharing of best practice and inspire health professionals in the field of preventive cardiology.


Country of the Month

The overall objective of this initiative is to facilitate implementation of CVD prevention by providing web-based information on prevention among the ESC member states and to inspire both national coordinators and others in the field of preventive cardiology.  Every other month, two countries will be highlighted, providing full reports and detailed analysis of the state of CVD prevention and rehabilitation in those countries.

This is an EACPR Prevention Implementation Committee (PIC) initiative, chaired by Prof. Joep Perk. 

June 2015 countries of the month: Slovakia and Slovenia

Previous country reports:

National Coordinators

61 NCPCs have been appointed by the Presidents of National Cardiac Societies in ESC member countries: 

  • To facilitate the endorsement, adaptation, translation and publication of the European Guidelines on CVD Prevention
  • To coordinate the development of CVD Prevention tools at national level
  • To liaise with the country’s Ministry of Health representatives
  • To build national multi-disciplinary professional alliances and a close collaboration with relevant national societies in the field of CVD prevention
  • To act as a direct and privileged contact for the EACPR 

2 NCPC's elected members of the Prevention Implementation Committee:

Two National CVD Prevention Coordinators have been elected to represent the NCPC community within the EACPR Prevention Implementation Committee (PIC):

Professor Helmut Gohlke         
NCPC Germany                         

View the CV

Professor Yaakov Henkin
NCPC Israel

View the CV

The engagement of two NCPC members in the committee is seen as an important strategic step to enhance the cooperation with all national coordinators around Europe and thus strengthen the effectiveness of the committee.

Learn more about the Prevention Implementation Committee (PIC).

List of all National CVD Prevention Coordinators:

  • Professor Artan Goda, FESC (Albania)
  • to be confirmed (Algeria)
  • Dr Parounak A. Zelveian (Armenia)
  • Professor Otto Traindl (Austria)
  • Dr Ulviya Zakiyeva (Azerbaijan)
  • Dr Volha Paulava (Belarus)
  • Professor Johan H A J  De Sutter, FESC (Belgium)
  • Professor Mirza Dilic FESC Assoc. Professor Dusko Vulic, FESC (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
  • Doctor Evgeni Goshev (Bulgaria)
  • Professor Davor Milicic, FESC (Croatia)
  • Dr Pambis Nicolaides, FESC (Cyprus)
  • Dr Renata Cifkova, FESC (Czech Republic)
  • Dr Albert Joensen (Denmark)
  • Professor Mohamed Sobhy, FESC Professor Ihab Attia (Egypt)
  • Professor Margus Viigimaa, FESC (Estonia)
  • Professor Seppo Lehto (Finland)
  • Dr Marie-Christine Iliou (France)
  • Dr Zurab Klimiashvili (Georgia)
  • Professor Helmut Gohlke, FESC, Professor Ulrich Keil, FESC (Germany)
  • Assistant Professor Konstantinos Tsioufis, FESC (Greece)
  • Professor Istvan Czuriga, FESC (Hungary)
  • Professor Karl Andersen, FESC (Iceland)
  • Dr Siobhan Jennings, Dr Angie Brown (Ireland)
  • Professor Yaakov Henkin (Israel)
  • Dr Pompilio Faggiano Professor Salvatore Novo, FESC (Italy)
  • Assoc. Professor Kairat Davletov (Kazakhstan)
  • Assoc. Professor Saamai Abilova (Kyrgyzstan)
  • Dr Vilnis Dzerve, FESC (Latvia)
  • Dr Georges Saade, FESC (Lebanon)
  • Dr Omar Msalam, FESC (Libya)
  • Professor Rimvydas Slapikas, FESC (Lithuania)
  • Dr Charles Delagardelle (Luxembourg)
  • Assist. Prof. Nela Kostova (Macedonia, FYR of)
  • Dr Myra Tilney (Malta)
  • Professor Ljilja Music (Montenegro)
  • Professor Mhamed Arharbi (Morocco)
  • to be confirmed (Moldova, Republic of)
  • Professor Jaap Willem Deckers, FESC Doctor Roderik A. Kraaijenhagen (Netherlands)
  • Dr Anders Hovland (Norway)
  • Associate Professor Piotr Jankowski (Poland)
  • Assistant Professor Evangelista Casimiro Rocha (Portugal)
  • Dr Iulia Daniela Kulcsar, FESC Professor Dan Gaita, FESC (Romania)
  • Professor Sergey Boytsov (Russian Federation)
  • Dr Liano Marinelli FESC (San Marino, Republic of)
  • Dr Vojislav Giga Professor Miodrag Ostojic,  FESC (Serbia)
  • Associate Professor  Gabriel Kamensky, FESC (Slovak Republic)
  • Dr Zlatko Fras, FESC (Slovenia)
  • Dr Regina Dalmau Gonzàlez-Gallarza (Spain)
  • Dr Anna Kiessling (Sweden)
  • Professor François Mach (Switzerland)
  • Professor Abdallah Mahdhaoui (Tunisia)
  • Professor Dilek Ural Professor Meral Kayikcioglu (Turkey)
  • Professor Elena Nesukay (Ukraine)
  • Dr Robert Henderson (United Kingdom)

Access the documents library and resources for NCPCs

Contact us for more information


European Society
of Cardiology

Les Templiers
2035 Route des Colles
CS 80179 BIOT
06903 Sophia Antipolis
Cedex France