In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Who we are

Learn more about the European Society of Cardiology


The European Society of Cardiology (ESC) represents over 80,000 cardiology professionals, principally from across Europe and the Mediterranean basin, but also from the rest of the world.
The current ESC President is Professor Fausto Pinto.  The immediate Past President is Professor Panos Vardas.  The President Elect is Professor Jeroen Bax.

The ESC comprises: European Society of Cardiology



ESC Associations

Registered Branches of the ESC: ACCA (Acute Cardiovascular Care), EACPR (Prevention & Rehabilitation), EACVI (Imaging)(formerly EAE), HFA (Heart Failure), EHRA (Heart Rhythm) and EAPCI (Percutaneous Cardiovascular Interventions)...


ESC Councils

Council on Cardiovascular Nursing and Allied Professions (CCNAP), Council on Basic Cardiovascular Science (CBCS), Council for Cardiology Practice (CCP), the Council on Primary Cardiovascular Care (CPCC) and the Council on Hypertension (CH)

ESC Working Groups

Focused on research in cardiovascular biology, structure and function of the heart, e-cardiology, and treatment and intervention, the ESC has 15 Working Groups covering a wide variety of sub-specialities...

ESC Fellowship 

The ESC Fellowship community supports and represents the ESC activities throughout the world, advocating excellence in cardiology and maintaining high standards throughout European cardiology...

National & Affiliated Cardiac Societies 

The ESC has 56 National Cardiac Societies (NCS) as full members.
In addition the ESC counts over 38 Affiliated Cardiac Society (ACS) members.

Cardiologists of Tomorrow

During the ESC Congress 2009 in Barcelona, young cardiologists from France carried out a survey to find out about young cardiologist organisations across Europe. The results identified a need for a strong community and thus the ESC decided to take the lead and look for support within the structure of the ESC Cardiac Societies.


  • Founded in 1950 by representatives from 14 National Societies (Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Yugoslavia)
  • First General Assembly held during the World Congress in Paris, 1950. ESC Congress then held every four years, organised each time by a different National Society
  • Since 1988, the ESC Congress has been an annual event
  • In 1993 the European Heart House was built as the official headquarters of the ESC. The European Heart House is based in Sophia Antipolis, near Nice in France.



European Society
of Cardiology

Les Templiers
2035 Route des Colles
CS 80179 BIOT
06903 Sophia Antipolis
Cedex France