European Society of Cardiology
Skip navigation links
About the ESC
Guidelines & Surveys
Welcome to the European Society of Cardiology. Our mission: to reduce the burden of cardiovascular disease in Europe
ESC - European Society of Cardiology

Who we are

Learn more about the European Society of Cardiology

The European Society of Cardiology (ESC) represents over 80,000 cardiology professionals, principally from across Europe and the Mediterranean basin, but also from the rest of the world.

The current ESC President is Professor Fausto Pinto.  The immediate Past President is Professor Panos Vardas.  The President Elect is Professor Jeroen Bax.

The ESC comprises: European Society of Cardiology


ESC Associations
ESC Associations

Registered Branches of the ESC: ACCA (Acute Cardiovascular Care), EACPR (Prevention & Rehabilitation), EACVI (Imaging)(formerly EAE), HFA (Heart Failure), EHRA (Heart Rhythm) and EAPCI (Percutaneous Cardiovascular Interventions)...

The ESC Councils

ESC Councils

Council on Cardiovascular Nursing and Allied Professions (CCNAP), Council on Basic Cardiovascular Science (CBCS), Council for Cardiology Practice (CCP), the Council on Primary Cardiovascular Care (CPCC) and the Council on Hypertension (CH)

ESC Working GroupsESC Working Groups

Focused on research in cardiovascular biology, structure and function of the heart, e-cardiology, and treatment and intervention, the ESC has 15 Working Groups covering a wide variety of sub-specialities...
The ESC FellowshipESC Fellowship 

The ESC Fellowship community supports and represents the ESC activities throughout the world, advocating excellence in cardiology and maintaining high standards throughout European cardiology...
ESC National & Affiliated Cardiac SocietiesNational & Affiliated Cardiac Societies 

The ESC has 56 National Cardiac Societies (NCS) as full members.

In addition the ESC counts over 38 Affiliated Cardiac Society (ACS) members.
ESC Cardiologists of TomorrowCardiologists of Tomorrow

During the ESC Congress 2009 in Barcelona, young cardiologists from France carried out a survey to find out about young cardiologist organisations across Europe. The results identified a need for a strong community and thus the ESC decided to take the lead and look for support within the structure of the ESC Cardiac Societies.


  • Founded in 1950 by representatives from 14 National Societies (Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Yugoslavia)
  • First General Assembly held during the World Congress in Paris, 1950. ESC Congress then held every four years, organised each time by a different National Society
  • Since 1988, the ESC Congress has been an annual event
  • In 1993 the European Heart House was built as the official headquarters of the ESC. The European Heart House is based in Sophia Antipolis, near Nice in France.