In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

Study Group on Inflammatory and infective heart muscle disease

Working Group on Myocardial and Pericardial Diseases

Myocardial Disease

 Alida Caforio
Coordinated by 
Alida Caforio

Development of supporting documentation for a possible future position statement on the diagnosis and treatment of myocarditis

In September 2010, the Nucleus of the Working Group on Myocardial and Pericardial Diseases created a task group on inflammatory and infective heart muscle disease, to assist the Nucleus in its educational and scientific strategies in this field. The first aim of the task group is the development of an ESC Position statement on the diagnosis and treatment of myocarditis.

Myocarditis is a common cause of sudden cardiac death in young people, and may lead to dilated cardiomyopathy, refractory heart failure and heart transplantation. In spite of tremendous advances in imaging modalities and the molecular diagnosis of infective and immune-mediated forms of the disease, there is controversy in relation to diagnostic criteria, management and risk stratification. A position statement on this matter is therefore timely and of great relevance for clinicians and basic scientists.

On November 25th, the ESC Committee for Practice Guidelines approved the Working group proposal of the development of a position paper on “diagnosis and treatment of myocarditis”.
The Nucleus nominated Dr. Alida LP Caforio as co-ordinator of the task group and Dr. Sabine Pankuweit as task group leader. Current Task force members have been nominated by the Nucleus, are internationally recognized experts in various aspects of Inflammatory and Infective Heart Muscle disease and are listed below:

1) Cristina Basso MD, PhD (Department of  Medical-diagnostic Sciences and Special Therapies, Cardiac Pathology, Padova, Italy.)
2) Karin Klingel, MD (Department of Molecular Pathology, University Hospital Tübingen, Tübingen, Germany.)
3) Ali Yilmaz, MD (Robert-Bosch-Krankenhaus, Auerbachstrasse 110, 70376 Stuttgart, Germany.)
4) Stephan B Felix, MD (Medizinische Klinik B, University of Greifswald, Friedrich-Loeffler-Strasse 23a, Greifswald D-17475, Germany.)
5) Michael Fu, MD, PhD, FESC (Dept. of Medicine, Heart Failure Unit, Sahlgrenska University Hospital/ University of Göteborg, Sweden.)
6) Roland Jahns, MD (Department of Internal Medicine, Medizinische Klinik und Poliklinik I, Cardiology, Wuerzburg, Germany.)
7) Stephane Heymans, MD, PhD (Center for Heart Failure Research, Cardiovascular Research Institute Maastricht, University Hospital Maastricht, P. Debyelaan 25, 6229 HX Maastricht, The Netherlands.)

The anticipated deadline for completion of the first draft of the document is 31 August 2011. Once complete, the draft will be circulated to a review committee of international experts for critical review and amendment. The final document will be sent to the ESC Committee for Practice Guidelines for approval by 31 December 2011 and will then be submitted for publication.