In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

Pexieder Award

Delivered to the best abstract submitter at the Annual Meeting of the Working Group on Development Anatomy and Pathology

This award had been named in tribute to Tomas Pexieder, founder and first Co-Chairman of the Working Group on Development Anatomy and Pathology, formerly named "Embryology and Teratology".

Discover Professor Tomas Pexieder's biography!


Delivered during the Newcastle Cardiovascular Development Meeting 2016, United Kingdom

Two awards for oral presentation:

 Caroline Choquet, France

Abstract: Lineage analysis of ventricular trabeculae to decipher the role of Nkx2-5 in conduction system development

Caroline Choquet, Robert G. Kelly and Lucile Miquerol

Aix-Marseille University, Developmental Biology Institute of Marseilles, CNRS, Marseilles, France

 Jill Hilkspoors, The Netherlands

Abstract: Development of the (supra-) hepatic portion of the inferior caval vein

Jill PJM Hikspoors (1), Hayelom K Mekonen (1), Nutmethee Kruepunga (1), Mathijs MJP Peeters (1), Greet MC Mommen (1), S Eleonore Köhler (1), Wouter H Lamers (1,2)

1 Department of Anatomy & Embryology, Maastricht University, Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 Tytgat Institute for Liver and Intestinal Research, Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Two awards for poster presentation:

 José Juan Aparicio-Sanchez, United Kingdom

Abstract: Acetylation of TBX5 by KAT2B and KAT2A regulates heart and limb development

José Juan Aparicio-Sánchez, Tushar Ghosh, Tasabeeh Mohamed, Sarah Buxton, Ami Ketley, Catrin Rutland, Siobhan Loughna, David Brook

The University of Nottingham, Nottingham, United Kingdom

 Kate Bailey, United Kingdom

Abstract: Downregulating Rho Kinase (ROCK) in the developing ventricle wall causes early sarcomeric defects which contribute to the development of adult cardiovascular disease

Bailey KE, Blain A, Tual-Chalot S, Mohun T, Bamforth SD, Henderson DJ, Phillips HM

Newcastle University, Newcastle, United Kingdom

For more science, access the Abstract Book of the Meeting

Abstract Book 2016

To learn more on the Newcastle Meeting, read the Meeting Report

Meeting Report 2016


Delivered during the Amsterdam Cardiovascular Development Meeting 2015, Netherlands

Two awards for oral presentation:

 Mayyasa Rammah, France

Abstract: Dissecting the regulatory circuitry of complementary progenitor cell contributions to the arterial pole of the heart

Mayyasa Rammah, Magali Théveniau-Ruissy, Francesca Rochais and Robert G Kelly

Aix-Marseille University, Developmental Biology Institute of Marseilles, CNRS, Marseilles, France

 Frédéric Laurent, Switzerland

Abstract: The HAND2 Cistrome in Mouse Embryonic Hearts Identifies its Target Genes During Endothelial-Mesenchymal Transition in the Atrioventricular Canal

Frédéric Laurent(1), Javier Lopez-Rios(1), Marco Osterwalder(1,2) Iros Barozzi2, Dario Speziale(1), Jennifer Akiyama(2), Joy Lincoln(3), Axel Visel(2) Aimée Zuniga(1) and Rolf Zeller(1)

(1)Developmental Genetics, Department of Biomedicine, University of Basel, CH- 4058 Basel, Switzerland

(2)Genomics Division, MS 84-171, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, CA 94720, USA
(3)Center for Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Research, The Research Institute at Nationwide Children's Hospital, Columbus, Ohio, USA

One award for poster presentation:

Ghislaine Lioux, Spain

Abstract: Clonal analysis unravels the Second Heart Field as a source of epicardial-like cells

Lioux G., Temiño S., Torres M.

Cardiovascular Developmental Biology and Repair Department, CNIC, Melchor Fernández Almagro, 3 (28029) Madrid, Spain

To read more, access the Abstract Book of the Meeting

Abstract book 2015

Previous awardees

  • Jan Buikema, Leiden (2013)
  • Alberto Briones-Leon, Newcastle (2012)
  • Nadia Mercader, Madrid (2011)
  • Karim Mesbah, Marseilles (2010)
  • Ross Breckenridge, London (2009)
  • Chiann-Mun Chen, Oxford (2008)
  • Jorg Manner (1998)
  • Diego Franco, Amsterdam (1996)