In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Nucleus and Structure

ESC Working Group on Cardiac Cellular Electrophysiology

Nucleus 2016-2018


Prof. Dobromir Dobrev

Institute of Pharmacology
University Duisburg-Essen
Hufelandstrasse 55
DE-45122 Essen - Germany

Vice-Chairperson & Treasurer

Dr. Carol Ann Remme

Dept. Of Experimental Cardiology Academic Medical Center (Amc)
K-2-110 Meibergdreef 19 PO Box 22660
1105 AZ Amsterdam Z0 - Netherlands


Prof. Godfrey Smith

Inst. of Biomedical Systems & Life Sciences
University of Glasgow
West Medical Building
Glasgow G12 8QQ - United Kingdom

Web & Education editor

Dr. Cristina E. Molina

SOT Representative

Ordinary Nucleus members

Ass. Prof. Gudrun Antoons


Dr. Flavien Charpentier


Prof. Ana Gomez, FESC


Prof. Franck R. Heinzel


Dr. Matteo Mangoni, FESC


Dr. Milan Stengl

Czech Republic.

Prof. Dierk Thomas, FESC


Ex-Officio Nucleus members

Dr. Paul Volders, FESC

The Netherlands

Prof. Antonio Zaza, FESC

EP Europace Journal co-editor


The European Working Group on Cardiac Cellular Electrophysiology was founded in 1978 by Prof. E. Coraboeuf (Paris) & Prof. E. Carmeliet (Leuven), and this first nucleus soon also included Prof. S. Weidmann (Bern).

The first meeting took place in Leuven, bringing together all labs of Europe investigating the properties of the cardiac action potential and the underlying ionic currents.
This first meeting was attended by some 100 people, and the major goal was to share scientific information in order to advance research in a quickly developing field.

The passing of one of the founders, Prof. Coraboeuf, in September 1998, was fittingly remembered by a symposium organised by Prof. R. Fischmeister in Paris, in September 1999.
The meeting brought together scientists from all over the world, and demonstrated the immense progress that has been made in the field over the last 25 years.

Some 10 years after its founding, the Working Group became a member of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC).

A list of all past Chairpersons is shown below

Prof. Godfrey Smith Glasgow, UK 2014-2016
Dr. Paul Volders, FESC Maastricht, NL 2012-2014
Prof. Elisabetta CERBAI, FESC Firenze, IT 2010-2012
Prof. David A. EISNER, FESC Manchester, UK 2008-2010
Prof. Barbara CASADEI, FESC Oxford, UK 2006-2008
Prof. Antonio ZAZA, FESC Milan, IT 2004-2006
Dr Sylvain RICHARD Montpellier, FR 2002-2004
Prof. Karin SPIDIO, FESC Leuven, BE 2000-2002
Prof. Alessandro MUGELLI, FESC Firenze, IT 1998-2000
Prof. Ursula RAVENS, FESC Dresden, DE 1996-1998
Prof. Guy VASSORT Milan, IT 1994-1996
Dr Hilary F. BROWN Gairloch, UK 1992-1994
Prof. Lennart N. BOUMAN   1990-1992
Prof. Silvio WEIDMANN Bern, CH 1988-1990
Prof. Felix I.M. BONKE Bentveld, Netherlands 1986-1988
Dr de HEMPTINNE Bern, CH 1984-1986
Prof. Felix I.M. BONKE Bentveld, Netherlands 1982-1984


 Annual Reports

Annual Report 2014-2016