In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

Nucleus and Structure

ESC Working Group on Atherosclerosis and Vascular Biology

Nucleus 2014-2016


Assoc. Prof. Imo Hoefer, FESC
Dept of Experimental Cardiology, UMC Utrecht, G02.523,
Heidelberglaan 100
3584 CX Utrecht - The Netherlands
Tel: +31 88 755 8654, Fax: +31 30 252 2693, email


Prof. Paul Evans  
University of Sheffield, Medical School,
Beech Hill Road,Sheffield,
Sheffield S10 2RX - United Kingdom
Tel: +44 114 2712591,  email 


Prof. Christian Weber, FESC
Institute For Cardiovascular Prevention
Klinikum LMU Muenchen
Pettenkoferstrasse 9
80336 Muenchen - Germany
Tel: +49 8951604350, Fax: +49 8951604352, email 


Prof. Sabine Steffens, FESC
Institute of Cardiovascular Prevention
Pettenkoferstrasse 8a
80336 Munich - Germany
Tel : +49-(0)89-5160-4674 - E-mail


Dr. Giuseppina Caligiuri, FESC (FR), email
Dr. Marie-Luce Bochaton-Piallat (CH), email
Assoc. Prof. Jose Tuñón-Fernandez, FESC (ES), email     
Assist. Prof. Daniel Ketelhuth (SE), email
Prof. Esther Lutgens (NL),email
Dr. Christian Matter (CH), email
Dr. Andrea Caporali (UK), email


Dr. Claudia Monaco, FESC (UK), email
Secretary & Treasurer
Prof. Andreas Schober (DE), email
Connect with the editorial boards of various cardiovascular journals
Prof. Paul Holvoet, FESC (BE), email
Connect the nucleus with the editors of the working group’s textbook.


Change of Working Group name

The name of the Working Group of Pathogenesis of Atherosclerosis has been changed to ‘Atherosclerosis and Vascular Biology’.

The nucleus has had three meetings discussing this topic in depth and has taken a vote on this during the nucleus meeting in Munich (September 2008) where every nucleus member approved and strongly supported this change.

The main reason for this request is that we would like to embrace a large number of scientists in Europe working in the field of atherosclerosis , genetics and vascular biology. The current name restricts the interest of scientists .The working group has been campaigning very hard to increase the number of members under the leadership of Gerard Pasterkamp and last year we had a stand during the European Atherosclerosis Society Congress where we were able to interact with scientists working in the field. There we found out that the main reason for their lack of interest was the name of the group, some thought it was for pathologists only.

The Atherosclerosis field has undergone large changes In the last decade. While it was a lipid driven field around 1990, it changed completely by the introduction of genomics and the availability of knock out animals. This approach has broadened the field and focus has shifted towards finding vascular pathways leading to progression of atherosclerosis. In addition, several treatment modalities are being developed by this group. As a consequence societies have changed their name to include this effort. There is a large group of scientists we can interest in the ESC with the change of the working group name.We have considered this very carefully and found that none of the other working groups of the ESC are covering this field.

We have a very motivated and dynamic working group and hope that we can embrace a large group of scientists.

Lale Tokgozoglu MD,FACC,FESC
Chairperson of the Working Group on Atherosclerosis and Vascular Biology (2008-2010