In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.
COVID-19 and Cardiology Read more

ESC Membership Committee


The main objectives of the ESC Membership committee are:

  • To fulfill the ESC mission
  • To support and implement the ESC strategic plan for membership, one of its main focused areas
  • To grow ESC membership globally across diverse audiences, geographies and socio-economic environments
  • To enhance members’ sense of belonging and continuously innovate to make ESC members’ experience very special as part of the ESC Family
  • To promote the whole portfolio of ESC memberships
  • To evolve the membership portfolio and build Member lifetime value



ESC Vice-President & Chair

  • Cecilia Linde, FESC, Sweden

ESC Councillors

  • Michael Glikson, FESC, Israel – Councillor for Membership
  • Zuzana Motovska, FESC, Czech Republic - Councillor for Membership
  • Stephan Gielen, FESC, Germany – Councillor for Young Community

Permanent & Deputy Members

  • Elena Marques-Sule, Spain (Permanent)
  • Lis Neubeck, United Kingdom (Deputy)
  • Sofie Gevaert, Belgium (Permanent)
  • Antonia Sambola Ayala, Spain (Deputy)
  • Paul Dendale, Belgium (Permanent)
  • Silvia Castelletti, Italy (Deputy)
  • Bernard Cosyns, Belgium (Permanent)
  • Kristina Haugaa, Norway (Deputy)
  • Michael Haude, Germany (Permanent)
  • Martine Gilard, France (Deputy)
  • Jean-Claude Deharo, France (Permanent)
  • Mihaela Grecu, Romania (Deputy)
  • Mitja Lainscak, Slovenia (Permanent)
  • Ewa Anita Jankowska, Poland (Deputy)
  • Claire Bouleti, France (Permanent)
  • Jelena Celutkiene, Lithuania (Deputy)
Working Groups
  • Jeremy David Pearson, United Kingdom (basic Permanent)
  • Alida Caforio, Italy (clinical Permanent)
Women in ESC
  • Avital Porter, Israel (Permanent)
  • Julia Mascherbauer, Austria (Deputy)
Young Community
  • Özge Ozden Tok, Turkey (Permanent)
  • Edit Gara, United Kingdom (Deputy)
FESC Task Force
  • Stavros V. Konstantinides, Germany - Chair & Permanent Member
  • Nikola Pavlovic, Croatia - TF Member
  • Pekka Raatikainen, Finland - TF Member
  • Christian Wolpert, Germany - TF Member
ESC Staff
  • Sophie Squarta - ESC Membership & Community Director
  • Séverine Connor – ESC Team Manager Membership Development (Committee Secretary)