In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.
COVID-19 and Cardiology Read more

EURObservational Research Programme Committees

Structure and organisation of the EURObservational Research programme

Structure and Organisation

Structure and organisation of the EURObservational Research programme are designed to achieve its objectives. The main features are:

  • Use of appropriate methodological procedures
  • Network of volunteer centres appointed by ESC constituent bodies
  • Use on-line electronic Case Report Form (CRF) allowing user friendly web based data entry
  • Full involvement of the ESC National Cardiac Societies (NCS) and relevant ESC Constituent Bodies

EORP Oversight Committee

Oversight Committee's mandate duration is two years (renewable once). The Oversight Committee chair is appointed by the ESC board and constitute the oversight Committee.

Members: representatives of the ESC sub-specialty association, working groups and councils, country and regional representatives and experts in cardiac surgery, epidemiology, e-health and health economics.

Responsibility: Programme oversight, relationship with Constituent Bodies and Survey/Registry (S/R) Chairpersons, liaison with the ESC Board

Registry Executive Committee

Members: Chairperson of the Registry & Experts selected by ESC Associations or WGs or councils in liaison with the Oversight Committee

Responsibility: Conduct of the S/R (from protocol to publications) & reporting to the Oversight Committee.

Executive Committees are composed of several members, with at least one of whom being the chairman, appointed by the Association/WG in agreement with the Oversight Committee.

Steering Committee

Members: Chairperson of the S/R, and one delegate per participating country selected by the NCSs for the country-based registries and by the Executive Committee for the centre-based registries

Responsibility: Responsible for the selection of the centres, overall organisation of the set-up of the registry, performance of national centres, participation in the publication plan.

The EURObservational Research Programme Organisation

EORP Oversight Committee members

Current: 2020 - 2018

Christopher Peter Gale, Chairman, UK
Andrzej Budaj, PL
Branko Beleslin, RS
Ovidiu Chioncel, RO
Nikolaos Dagres, DE
Nicolas Danchin, FR
Jonathan Emberson, UK
David Erlinge, SE
Michael Glikson, IL
Alastair Gray, UK
Meral Kayikcioglu, TR
Klaudia Vivien Nagy, HU
Aleksandre Nedoshivin, RU
Anna-Sonia Petronio, IT
Jolien Roos-Hesselink, NL
Lars Wallentin, SE
Uwe Zeymer, DE

Consultant: Aldo P. Maggioni, EORP Scientific Coordinator, IT

2016 - 2018

Alec Vahanian, Chairman, FR
Andrzej Budaj, PL
Nikolaos Dagres, DE
Nicolas Danchin, FR
Victoria Delgado, NL
Jonathan Emberson, UK
Örjan Friberg, SE
Christopher Peter Gale, UK
Guy Heyndrickx, BE
Bernard Iung, FR
Stefan James, SE
Gianfranco Parati, IT
Anna-Sonia Petronio, IT
Mikko Pietila, FI
Eva Prescott, DK
Frank Ruschitzka, CH
Frans Van de Werf, BE
Franz Weidinger, AT
Uwe Zeymer, DE

Non voting/ ex officio members
Aldo Maggioni, IT
Nikos Maniadakis, GR
Klaudia Vivien Nagy, HU

2014 - 2016

Roberto Ferrari, Chairman, IT
Luigi Tavazzi, Past-Chairman, IT
Panos Vardas, GR
Fausto Pinto, PT
Jeroen Bax, NL
Angeles Alonso, ES
Stephan Gielen, DE
Patrizio Lancellotti, BE
Carina Blomström-Lundqvist, SE
Franz Weidinger, AT
Frank Ruschitzka, CH
Uwe Zeymer, DE

Non voting/ ex officio members

Aldo P. Maggioni, EORP Scientific Coordinator, IT
Nikos Maniadakis, Health Economics, GR





Learn more about EURObservational Research Programme (EORP)