In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

HFA Board

The Heart Failure Association of the ESC (HFA of the ESC), was officially launched in Munich in August 2004 and was created from the now dissolved ESC Working Group on Heart Failure.

THe HFA Board 2018 - 2020 will be voted in during the General Assembly of the Heart Failure Association, to be held on 28 May 2108 during the Heart Failure congress in Vienna, Austria.


HFA Board Elections 2018

seferovic-petar-2012.jpgJoin Professor Petar Seferovic, the incoming President for 2018 to 2020, in developing the future roadmap of the HFA

We kindly invite you to join us in shaping its future. Now is your chance to join the board of the HFA, the world’s largest and most influential heart failure association

How to submit your candidature

  • Submit a letter of motivation detailing your involvement in the national and international heart failure community
  • Provide your curriculum vitae
  • Be an HFA Gold member 2018 or Fellow of the HFA of an ESC member country  |  Check your membership

Send your application by 28 February 2018

 Executive Committee 2016-2018

  • President Frank Ruschitzka (CH)
  • President Elect Petar Seferovic (RS)
  • Immediate Past-President Gerasimos Filippatos (GR)
  • Chairperson of the Clinical Section Massimo Piepoli (IT)
  • Chairperson of the Basic Science Section Rudolf De Boer (NL)
  • Coordinator for National HF Societies and Working Groups Mitja Lainscak (SI)
  • Secretary Marisa Crespo-Leiro (ES)
  • Treasurer Andrew Coats (UK)

Clinical section

  • Jelena Celutkiene (LT)
  • Veli-Pekka Harjola (FI)
  • Ewa Jankowska (PL)
  • Loreena Hill (IR)
  • Yury Lopatin (RU)
  • Lars Lund (SE)
  • Davor Milicic (HR)
  • Christian Mueller (CH)
  • Giuseppe Rosano (IT)

Basic Science Section

  • Johannes Backs (DE)
  • Johann Bauersachs (DE)
  • Alexander Lyon (UK)


  • Marco Metra (IT) - Editor in Chief, European Journal of Heart Failure
  • Stefan Anker (DE) - Editor in Chief, ESC Heart Failure
  • Stephane Heymans (NL) - Chair, WG on Myocardial Function
  • Alexander Mebazaa (FR) - Chair, Scientific Programmes Committee Heart Failure 2017
  • Piotr Ponikowski (PL) - Chair, Global Heart Failure Awareness Programme
  • Isabel Bardinet (FR) - CEO, European Society of Cardiology

Sui Generis

  • Theresa McDonagh (UK)
  • Arno Hoes (NL)
  • Jillian Riley (UK)