In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more


The EHRA Innovation Committee, aims at encouraging and stimulating innovation by electrophysiologists and related researchers to translate that innovation into new products.

Views of the Committee Chair, Prof. Frits Prinzen

What is the EHRA Innovation Committee about?
The EHRA Innovation Committee has been formed by EHRA to enhance innovative activities by EP’s and associated investigators in order to create new therapeutic approaches and products. Several aspects are relevant here:

  1. Stimulate innovative thinking by EP’s
  2. Share experiences by innovative EP’s and related investigators 
  3. Reward innovative actions by creating the EHRA Inventors Award.

What initiatives are being undertaken?
In order to stimulate innovative thinking by EP’s we collaborate with the Editor-in-Chief of the EP Europace to enable publication of Innovation-dedicated articles in EP Europace Journal.

These publications and presentations are intended to increase the awareness of innovation in general as well as the various steps in this process and the success and failure that may occur. Sharing of experiences by innovative EP’s may be helpful to make the right choices and avoid traps along the way of developing intellectual property and patent rights. 

To this purpose a LinkedIn discussion group was created, where members can share experiences and ask for advice. Committee members are the moderators and everyone is welcome to join.

Committee Members

  • Prof. Frits Prinzen (Chair), The Netherlands
  • Dr. Malcom Finlay, United Kingdom
  • Dr. Andreas Metzner, Germany
  • Dr. Gediminas Rackauskas, Lithuania


2015: Ivana VRANIC (Serbia)

2016: Andre NG ( United Kingdom)

2017: Call for applications: 1 December 2016