In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

National CVD Prevention Coordinators (NCPC)

appointed by the Presidents of National Cardiac Societies



National CVD Prevention Coordinators (NCPCs) are appointed by the Presidents of National Cardiac Societies, with the following roles and responsibilities: 

  • To facilitate the endorsement, adaptation, translation and publication of the European Guidelines on CVD Prevention
  • To coordinate the development of CVD Prevention tools at national level
  • To liaise with the country’s Ministry of Health representatives
  • To build national multi-disciplinary professional alliances and a close collaboration with relevant national societies in the field of CVD prevention
  • To act as a direct and privileged contact for the EAPC

NCPC Representatives in the Prevention Implementation Committee (PIC):

  • Professor Helmut Gohlke, NCPC Germany
  • Professor Yaakov Henkin, NCPC Israel

Aitm: to enhance the cooperation with all national coordinators around Europe and thus strengthen the effectiveness of the committee.

NCPC Activities

NCPC Workshops

ESC Congress in Barcelona (August 2017)

27 National Coordinators (“old” and “new”) from 23 different countries shared experience, discussed the "Overview of Cardiac Rehabilitation in ESC member countries" initiative and presented "Prevention Pictures". 

Workshop report

EuroPrevent in Malaga (April 2017)

National CVD Prevention Coordinators and CCNAP National Representatives from 14 different countries discussed the “ESC Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease Programme” and other prevention implementation initiatives.

Workshop report

EuroPrevent in Lisbon (May 2015)

NCPC group photo 14 May 2015Small.jpgNational CVD Prevention Coordinators from 11 different countries discussed prevention strategies.

Workshop report

Country of the Month

"Country of the Month" reports on the state of prevention and rehabilitation are prepared by NCPCs with the aim to share best practice and to inspire health professionals in the field of preventive cardiology.

Overview of Preventive Cardiology in Europe

"The Overview of Preventive Cardiology in Europe" is a valuable source of information, based on the "Country of the Month" reports of the NCPCs which allows to compare "Cardiac Rehabilitation" and "CVD Prevention" between different European countries. 

List of all National CVD Prevention Coordinators

Note: The 2017 renewal of National CVD Prevention Coordinators is nearly finalised and most of the Presidents of the National Cardiac Societies have either appointed a new coordinator or renewed the mandate of the existent one:

Country Coordinator
Armenia Dr Tigran R Astvatsatryan
Austria Professor Otto Traindl
Azerbaijan Associate Professor Rahima I. Gabulova
Belarus Dr Olga Paulava
Belgium Professor Johan De Sutter, FESC
Bosnia and Herzegovina Professor Mirza Dilic, FESC and Professor Dusko Vulic, FESC
Cyprus Dr Kypris Lambros
Czech Republic Professor Ales Linhart
Denmark Professor Eva Prescott
Egypt Professor Gamela Nasr
Finland Professor Seppo Lehto
France Dr Marie-Christine Iliou
Georgia Dr Zurab Klimiashvili
Germany Professor Helmut Gohlke, FESC and Professor Stephan Gielen, FESC
Greece Assistant Professor Konstantinos Tsioufis, FESC
Hungary Associate Professor Eszter Szabados
Iceland Professor Karl Andersen, FESC
Ireland Dr Siobhan Jennings and Dr Angie Brown
Israel Dr Barak Zafrir
Italy Dr Pompilio Faggiano and Professor Salvatore Novo, FESC
Kosovo Dr Pranvera Ibrahimi
Kyrgyzstan Dr Ksenya Neronova
Latvia Dr Vilnis Dzerve, FESC
Lithuania Professor Rimvydas Slapikas, FESC
Macedonia, FYR of Assist. Prof. Nela Kostova
Malta Dr Myra Tilney
Moldova, Republic of Dr Rudi Victor
Montenegro Professor Aneta Boskovic
Morocco Professor Mohamed Alami
Netherlands Dr Madoka Sunamura and Dr Roderik A. Kraaijenhagen
Norway Professor Henrik Schirmer
Poland Associate Professor Piotr Jankowski
Portugal Professor Ana Abreu
Romania Dr Iulia Daniela Kulcsar, FESC and Professor Dan Gaita, FESC
Russian Federation Professor Sergey Boytsov
San Marino, Republic of Doctor Marina Foscoli
Serbia Dr Vojislav Giga
Slovenia Dr Zlatko Fras, FESC
Spain Dr Regina Dalmau Gonzàlez-Gallarza
Sweden Dr Anna Kiessling
Switzerland Professor François Mach
Ukraine Professor Elena Nesukay
United Kingdom Dr Joseph Mills

Coordinators not renewed yet (answer pending)

Country Corrdinator
Albania Professor Artan Goda
Bulgaria Dr Evgeni Goshev
Croatia Professor Davor Milicic
Estonia Professor Margus Viigimaa
Kazakhstan Assoc. Professor Kairat Davletov
Lebanon Dr Georges Saade, FESC
Libya Dr Omar Msalam, FESC
Luxembourg Dr Charles Delagardelle
Slovak Republic Associate Professor Gabriel Kamensky, FESC
Tunisia Professor Abdallah Mahdhaoui
Turkey Professors Dilek Ural and Meral Kayikcioglu

Documents and resources