In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

EAPC Committees

The Board Committees are to lead EAPC flagship projects in collaboration with the Sections, based on representation from each of the Sections.

Communication Committee

The Communications Committee deals with internal and external communications. It is in charge of providing professional and scientific information to its members and external partners in close collaboration with the sections and Board Committees.

Chair: Uwe Nixdorff, EAPC Secretary


  • Cardiac Rehabilitation: Marco Ambrosetti
  • Exercise, Basic & Translational Research: Trine Karlsen
  • Sports Cardiology: Luis Serratosa
  • Prevention, Epidemiology & Population Science: Maja-Lisa Løchen


Contact us for more information

Congress Programme Committee 

Chair: Jean-Paul Schmid
Local Host, EuroPrevent 2018 Ljubljana: Zlatko Fras


  • Cardiac Rehabilitation: Heinz Völler 
  • Exercise Basic & Transational Research: Paul Leeson 
  • Sports Cardiology: Andre La Gerche
  • Prevention, Epidemiology & Population Science: Maja-Lisa Løchen
  • EAPC Young Community representatives: Sarah Eichler & Paolo Emilio Adami


Contact us for more information

Education Committee

The Education Committee creates educational and training programmes across Europe; provides input to the ESC Core Curriculum; contributes to the Textbook of Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation and other publications.

Chair: Michael Papadakis


  • Cardiac Rehabilitation: Ana Abreu
  • Sports Cardiology: Paolo Emilio Adami
  • Exercise Basic & Translational Research: Matthias Wilhelm
  • Prevention Epidemiology & Population Science: Vassilis Vassiliou
  • ESC Council on CV Nursing: to be announced

EAPC endorsement:


Contact us for more information

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is responsible for managing and optimising the financial assets of the Association. It also defines the business policies of the Association (travel, meeting and educational course endorsement, etc)

Chair: Marco Guazzi, EACPR Treasurer


  • EACPR President:Diederick Grobbee
  • EACPR President-Elect: Paul Dendale
  • ESC Finance Director: Nathalie Lefebvre
  • ESC Specialty Centre Director :Sophie Squarta


Contact us for more information

Membership Committee

The mission of the Membership Committee is to oversee the development and promotion of the EAPC membership offer for the preventive cardiology community.

Chair: Paul Dendale


  • Cardiac Rehabilitation: Ana Abreu
  • EBTR: Nicolle Kraenkel
  • PEP: Pedro Marques-Vidal
  • Communication representative: Luis Serratosa
  • Young Community representative: Silvia Castelletti


Contact us for more information

Prevention Implementation Committee

The mission: The implementation of the European Guidelines on CVD Prevention with the aim to reduce the burden of CVD.

The role: To close the gap between science and practice for both secondary and primary prevention in hospital, general practice and the population at large.

Chair: Arno Hoes


  • Cardiac Rehabilitation: Marie-Christine Iliou
  • Exercise Basic & Transational Research:  Hareld Kemps
  • Sports Cardiology: Axel Pressler
  • Prevention, Epidemology & Population Science: Ian Graham

National CVD Prevention Coordinator (NCPC) Representatives:

  • NCPC Germany: Helmut Gohlke
  • NCPC Israel: Yaakov Henkin

Ad hoc member:

  • EHN Director: Susanne Logstrup

Contact us for more information

Research Committee

The Research Committee initiates, oversees, approves and monitors all current and new scientific projects and position statements of the Association. The EAPC Research Committee is represented on the ESC Guidelines Committee and our Association is able to inform the development of all ESC guidelines.

Chair: Martin Halle


  • Cardiac Rehabilitation: Ugo Corra
  • Exercise Basic & Translational Research: Nicolle Kraenkel
  • Sports Cardiology: Josef Niebauer
  • Prevention, Epidemiology & Population Science: Demosthenes Panagiotakos

Nominating Committee

The nominating committee, consisting in 2  senior members of the association, nominated by the board, and the past chairpersons of each EAPC section, has the aim to define the best candidates for these three  positions, reflecting the broad interests of the association. The Committee is assisted in this task by the EAPC secretary.

Co-Chairs: to be announced for 2018 elections


to be announced for 2018 elections

  • Cardiac Rehabilitation Section
  • Exercise, Basic and Translational Research Section
  • Prevention, Epidemiology and Population Science Section
  • Sports Cardiology Section