In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

Viviane Conraads Outstanding Achievement Award

for established researchers


This award was established to recognise the contribution of Viviane Conraads, who was head of the Heart Failure Clinic of the University Hospital of Antwerp, and responsible for cardiac rehabilitation and the heart transplant program. She played a very important role in the EAPC as a nucleus member of the Exercise, Basic and Translational Research section and as the EAPC representative in the Congress Programme Committee.

2018 Award: Highlight your research! 

Note: The application deadline was 5 December.

  • With this award, the EAPC honours a researcher member of the Association with outstanding accomplishments in the early stage of the career.
  • The Award winner will be invited to present his/her research at EuroPrevent 2018 in Ljubljana, Slovenia, and will receive the Award Certificate during the congress closing ceremony.

”Receiving the 2016 Viviane Conraads Award at EuroPrevent was a true honour! I really enjoyed sharing the research on which the award was based and my thoughts on how to optimise cardiovascular prevention with such an intelligent crowd.” Professor Johan Sundström, 2016 Award Winner


  • Curriculum vitae
  • Top 5 publications (First & last authorship papers in peer reviewed journals)
  • 5 most recent publications
  • Personal h-index
  • Involvement in EAPC / National organisations in cardiology, preventive cardiology, rehabilitation and/or sports cardiology
  • Presentations at ESC / EuroPrevent congresses (3 max)

Eligibility criteria

  • Submission open to EAPC members, below 45 years old at the moment of the candidacy
  • Investigators involved in all areas of interests of EAPC who have recently established themselves as independent investigators
  • Investigators who sustained outstanding productivity over several years, resulting in a significant contribution to their chosen field and are expected to continue a successful career
  • Current board members / senior officers are not eligible for the award


  • Application deadline was 5 December
  • December-January: Evaluation by the EAPC Research Committee
  • January: Final approval by EAPC Board
  • End of February: Feedback to candidates 

Past Awardees

2015 : Professor Sanjay Sharma (United Kingdom)


Professor Sharma is Professor of Inherited Cardiac Diseases and Sports Cardiology and Head of Cardiac Research Center, St George’s University of London since 2010.
His academic interests include Sports Cardiology, Cardiomyopathies, Ion channel disease and Exercise Physiology.

Read more

2016: Professor Johan Sundström (Sweden)


Professor Sundström is Professor of Epidemiology at Uppsala University, Scientific Director of Uppsala Clinical Research Center (UCR), and works clinically at the Department of Cardiology of Uppsala University Hospital.
Professor Sundström has a broad epidemiological background. He has contributed to the understanding of cardiovascular disease and its risk factors, with a focus on high blood pressure. 

Read more

For more information, contact the EAPC team