In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

EACPR Sports Cardiology Nucleus

Sanjay Sharma
Chairman, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section
Congress Programme Committee Member Europrevent 2006-2014
Sanjay Sharma trained at Leeds University. He is Professor of Cardiology and head of the cardiac research centre at St George’s University of London. He is the medical director for Virgin London Marathon and the International Triathlon Union world championship in the UK.  He leads the largest cardiac evaluation programme in young athletes in the United Kingdom which is sponsored by the charity Cardiac Risk in the Young. Professor Sharma is cardiology advisor for several national sporting organisations including the English Institute of Sport, British Rugby League, British Lawn Tennis association, England cricket as well as several premier league football clubs. His research interests include cardiovascular adaptation in athletes, sudden cardiac death in the young, the cardiomyopathies and ion channel diseases for which he has an international reputation and has published over 160 scientific papers. Professor Sharma is chairman for the sports cardiology nucleus of the European society of sports cardiology. One of the proudest moments of his career was being lead cardiologist for the 2012 Olympics.

PubliMed l Institute Link l email

Erik Solbpicture E Solbergerg
Chair-Elect, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section, EACPR Communication Committee
Senior consultant, Diakonhjemmet hospital, Oslo, Norway.


Hanne K. Rasmusen
Secretary, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section
Nucleus member since 2010
MD, PhD at Bispebjerg University Hospital, Copenhagen, Denmark.
Speciality: Cardiopulmonary physiology, cardiac rehabilitation, heart failure, stress echocardiography.
Main interest: Evaluation, treatment and guidance of athletes with cardiac disease.

Institute Link l email

Domenico Corrado
Past-Chair, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section

Paolo Emilio Adami
Nucleus member, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section
Specialist in Sports Medicine at the Institute of Sports Medicine and Science of the Italian Olympic Committee, Rome, Italy.
Vice Chairman of ENGSO Youth, European Non-Govermental Sports Organisation.
Main interest: sports cardiology, cardiovascular adaptations in athletes, exercise physiology, exercise prescription, health promotion and public health.

Alesspicture A Biffiandro Biffi
Nucleus member, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section
Member, EACPR Prevention Implementation Committee
Cardiologist at the Institute of Sports Medicine and Science of the Italian Olympic Committee.
Medical Director of the Ferrari Formula 1 Team and Corporate Wellness Project "Formula Benessere".

Mats Borjesson
Nucleus member, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section
Specialist in Internal Medicine, Pain and Cardiology; PhD Cardiology 1999; Full Professor 2011, Astrand laboratory, School of Sport and Health Sciences & Department of Cardiology, Karolinska University Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden.
Chairman, section of Sports Cardiology, EACPR, 2008-10; Chairman for the Swedish Society of Sports Medicine, 2013-; Vice chairman of the Swedish Society of Cardiology, 2014-; Chairman of Task Force on Physical activity in WHO/Health Promoting Hospitals network, 2012- ; Vice-chairman the Medical Committee of the Swedish Football Association, 2010-; Member of the scientific committee of the European Federation for Sports Med Assoc (EFSMA), 2014-; Member of the IOC (ad-hoc) working group for Non-communicable diseases, 2013-.

Institute Link1 l Institute Link2 l email

Josef Niebauer

Nucleus member, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section, EACPR Science Committee, EACPR Prevention Implementation Committee.
Medical director and university chair of the Institute of Sports Medicine, Prevention and Rehabilitation, and
Research Institute of Molecular Sports Medicine and Rehabilitation, Paracelsus Medical University Salzburg, Institute of Sports Medicine of the State of Salzburg, Sports Medicine of the Olympic Center Salzburg-Rif.

PubliMed l Institute Link l email

Michael Papadakis
Nucleus Member, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section, EACPR EuroPRevent Congress Programme Committee, EACPR Education Committee.
Position: Lecturer in Cardiology, St George’s University of London.

Institute Link l email

Christian Schmied
Nucleus member, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section
Position: Head of Outpatients Clinic and Director of Sports Cardiology/Sports Medicine (approved by Swiss Olympic and “FIFA Centre of Medical Excellence”) at the University Heart Center, University of Zurich/Switzerland.
Further professional activities: Team physician of the Swiss Women’s Ski National Team, team physician of the Kloten Flyers (pro ice-hockey team), Medical Advisor for Sports Cardiology issues for the FIFA and the International Ice-Hockey Federation (IIHF), Associate Editor “European Heart Journal”

Institute Link l email

Luis Serratosa
Nucleus member, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section
Rehabilitation, Physiotherapy and Sports Medicine Dpt. at Hospital Universitario Quirón Madrid.
Outpatient Sports Cardiology Unit in the Cardiology Dpt. at Hospital Universitario Quirón Madrid.
Speciality: Sports Medicine, sports cardiology.
Main interests: exercise counseling in cardiovascular disease, echocardiographic characterstics in athletes, cardiac rehabilitation.

Frank Van Buuren
Nucleus member, EACPR Sports Cardiology Section since 2012
Dr. med., MBA at Heartcenter Northrhine Westphalia, University of Bochum, Germany
Speciality: invasive cardiology & angiology, intensive care medicine, echocardiography, sportscardiology.