In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

EAPCI: Results of the board elections

Yesterday the official announcement of the EAPCI President-Elect, Secretary and Treasurer for the term 2016-2018, as well as the EuroPCR representatives under the leadership of Prof Michael Haude, FESC (Germany) was made during the General EAPCI Assembly.

Today they have started in their new role and I am sure everybody will join me in congratulating them and wishing them a fruitful time at the helm of the Association. This concludes a long process started one year ago with the nomination by the EAPCI Board of the EAPCI Nominating Committee, a call for applications to all EAPCI members, the review of the candidates by the Nominating Committee and finally the online voting of last February.  I think we have great news coming from these elections that go beyond the quality of the winners, by no doubt all excellent choices if you read their profiles below.

  • President-Elect: Prof Andreas Baumbach, FESC (United Kingdom)
    Prof Baumbach is currently Consultant Cardiologist at the Bristol Heart Institute, Bristol, United Kingdom and Professor of Interventional Cardiology at the University of Bristol.

    He served on the board of the British Cardiovascular Intervention Society (BCIS) where he chaired the Education and Training Committee. As a member of the previous ESC Working Group 10, he was part of EAPCI from the very beginning and has served on the board as Chair and Co-Chair of the EAPCI Web and Communication Committee and as EAPCI secretary for the term 2014-2016. Prof Baumbach is a Board Member of EuroPCR and Co-Director of Gulf-PCR. His keen interest in improving education and training in Europe is reflected in his membership of the PCR Educational Solutions Research Group (ESRG).

  • Secretary: Dr Giulio Guagliumi, FESC (Italy)
    Dr Guagliumi is currently Interventional Cardiologist at Cardiovascular Department, Ospedale Papa Giovanni XXIII, Bergamo, Italy.

    He served as Scientific Director of the GISE Congress in 2008 and 2009 and as President of the Italian Society of Invasive Cardiology (GISE) in 2010 and 2011. Within the European Society of Cardiology, he served as member of the DES-FOCUS panel (2007), Co-chair of the EAPCI Scientific Programme Committee for the ESC Congress 2012-2014 and Expert Chair of the same Committee in 2015, and as Executive Board of EAPCI for the term 2014-2016. In addition, Dr Guagliumi took on the role of Country Champion of Stent for Life Initiative in 2010-2014, to correct inequalities in access to primary-PCI at Italian regional level (target Sicily, Campania, Puglia, Piemonte, Veneto). Finally, he acted as a promoter at the EAPCI level of the joint initiative with the largest Japanese society (CVIT) and co-shared meetings at EuroPCR and CVIT Congresses. He is a member of the scientific committee at TCT, TCTAP and PCR Asia.

  • Treasurer: Dr Bernard Chevalier, FESC (France)
    Dr Chevalier is currently Interventional Cardiologist and Director of research & training program at the Institut Cardiovasculaire Paris-Sud, Massy, France.

    He served as President of the French National Working Group (GACI) for the term 2002-2004. He was part of EAPCI since its creation and acted as Co-chairman of the EAPCI Communication committee from 2006 to 2010 and took over the chairmanship of this same Committee from 2010 to 2014. Dr Chevalier is widely involved in congresses organization, as Member of the Scientific Committee of the ESC Congress, European Congress of Cardiology since 2004, Member of scientific committee/program committee of EuroPCR from 2002 to 2012, Member of the organization committee of “High-Tech” congress since 2000 and Co-director of TOPIC (Japan) since 2003.

In addition, Associate Prof. Christoph K. Naber, FESC (Germany) and Dr Bernard D. Prendergast, FESC (United Kingdom) have been appointed to join the EAPCI Executive Board 2016-2018, representing (Euro)PCR.

  • Associate Prof. Naber is Director of the Contilia Heart and Vascular Centre in Essen, Germany. He is the current past-speaker of the German Working Group for Interventional Cardiology (AGIK) and an active member of the PCR family. He is Course Director of AsiaPCR and PCR-CIT China Chengdu Valves as well as Course-Co-Director of PCR London Valves and EuroPCR. He has served as member and co-chair of several EAPCI committees in the past years, was member of the EAPCI Executive Board from 2011 to 2014, and is nominated to be Co-Director of the Stent for Life initiative for 2016-2018.

  • Dr Prendergast is a Consultant Cardiologist and Director of the Valvular Heart Disease Programme at St Thomas’ Hospital, London. He has been Honorary Secretary of the British Cardiovascular Society (2010-2014) and British Cardiovascular Intervention Society (2006-2010), and was Chairman of the European Society of Cardiology Working Group on Valvular Heart Disease from 2012-2014. He has been active within the PCR family for several years and is currently a member of the PCR Board and Principal Course Director for PCR London Valves.

I trust that they will very significantly contribute to the EAPCI projects as well as facilitate optimal interaction with (Euro)PCR initiatives and Europa Organisation.

Let me finish by thanking all the members of the Nominating Committee 2014-2016 who spent time reviewing the CV of the candidates to ensure they were fit for the role and aware of the big commitments ahead. Dr Leonardo Bolognese from Italy, Prof Franz Eberli from Switzerland, Prof Helene Eltchaninoff from France, Prof Carlos Macaya from Spain, Dr Kari Niemelä from Finland and Dr Göran Olivecrona from Sweden joined me in this endeavour.

Thank you to all of you who actively participated with your vote in the election process.

Please, continue supporting your Association by stimulating and helping the elected Officers to deliver further growth of EAPCI.

Dr Jean Fajadet
Past-President EAPCI 2014-2016
Chairman of the 2016 Nominating Committee