In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

We use cookies to optimise the design of this website and make continuous improvement. By continuing your visit, you consent to the use of cookies. Learn more

EAPCI training grant winners 2014

Dr John JOSE, Luigi BIASCO, Shady ELNAGGAR and Giancarla SCALONE

The European Association of Percutaneous Cardiovascular Interventions (EAPCI) is committed to maintaining a high standard of professional excellence among the entire interventional community at all stages of their career.

This year, the EAPCI offered a total of four fellowship grants in interventional cardiology thanks to the financial support from Astra Zeneca, Edwards Lifesciences and Medtronic. It provides an opportunity for a one-year specialised research or clinical training for medical graduates at any stage of their career within the field of interventional cardiology but before obtaining a permanent, senior staff or consultant position, in an ESC member country other than their country of residence.

The ultimate goal is to enable young candidates to contribute to the enhancement of their country's academic standards upon return as well as encouraging exchanges and interactions from country to country.

The EAPCI Fellowship Committee chaired by Prof. Michael Haude and Prof Adam Witkowski is pleased to announce the 2014 winners:

  • Dr John JOSE from India has obtained a fellowship at the Heart Center, Segeberger Kliniken GmbH (Academic Teaching Hospital of the Universities of Kiel and Hamburg, Bad Segeberg (Germany) under the supervision of Dr Mohamed ABDEL-WAHAB. The topic of his training is "Assessment of valve haemodynamics, regurgitation, ventricular remodeling and myocardial fibrosis following transcatheter aortic valve implantation with second generation devices compared to surgical aortic valve replacement using cardiovascular magnetic resonance study".
    This grant is supported by Medtronic.
  • Dr Luigi BIASCO from Italy has been granted a fellowship at the Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen University Hospital (Denmark) under the supervision of Doctor Lars SONDERGAARD. The title of his training is "Anemia in TAVI patients, a possible indicator of poor prognosis?".
    This grant is supported by Edwards Lifesciences.
  • Dr Shady ELNAGGAR from Egypt has been accepted for a fellowship at the University of Duisburg-Essen, West German Heart Center (Germany) under the supervision of Professor Raimund ERBEL. The topic of his training is " Outcomes of Sapien-3 THV in comparison to Edwards Sapien-XT THV: Real world single center experience”. This grant is supported by Edwards Lifesciences.
  • Dr Giancarla SCALONE from Italy has been awarded a fellowship at the Hospital Clinic de Barcelona – ICT (Spain) under the supervision of Doctor Manel SABATE. The topic of her training is “Endothelial function assessment in sudden death patients treated by primary percutaneous coronary intervention and hypothermia”.
    This grant is supported by Astra Zeneca.

Dr JOSE, BIASCO, ELNAGGAR and SCALONE received the fellowship awards during the EAPCI Awards Ceremony held on
Thursday 22 May from 09:20-09:35.

On behalf of the EAPCI Board and the EAPCI Fellowship Committee, we would like to congratulate Dr JOSE, BIASCO, ELNAGGAR and SCALONE for their award.