In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

Certification Programmes

Certification proposed by ESC subspecialty communities

The ESC is offering cardiology practitioners a range of certifications to test and assess knowledge, skills and performance in their practice following post-graduation, educational and training experiences.

ESC certifications are both a proof of professional excellence to the patients and a way for practitioners to enhance their good practice.

Acute Cardiac Care

Certification for acute cardiac care specialists.

See more
Heart Failure

HFA certification for heart failure specialists.

See more
Heart Rhythm

EHRA certifications for: allied professionals in cardiac pacing and ICDs; cardiac pacing and ICDs; invasive cardiac electrophysiology.

See more

EACVI certifications for:  transthoracic echocardiography; transoesophageal echocardiography; congenital heart disease echocardiography; cardiovascular magnetic resonance; cardiovascular magnetic resonance congenital heart disease; nuclear cardiology; cardiac computed tomography.

See more
Interventional Cardiology

EAPCI certification for: interventional cardiology;

interventional cardiology for NAPS.

See more

1) Knowledge assessment: written examination

This consists of an exam with multiple-choice questions (MCQs). Passing scores are established within the subcommittee after each exam based on the statistical performance of individual questions and on the average level of scores taken from the respective examinations. 

2) Skills assessment: logbook

Candidates will have to pass the theoretical section successfully before going to the second part. For the practical part, candidates must submit a logbook. It is designed to demonstrate the training, skills and experience of the applicant under the guidance of supervisors. This part involves practical skills assessment. 


Upcoming Exams