In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.

ESC Council on Valvular Heart Disease

Created on 29 August 2017, the ESC Council on Valvular Heart Disease aims to be a multidisciplinary forum for the Heart Valve Team, to encourage research, knowledge exchange, teaching and other educational activities in regard with valvular heart disease.



Many of the valvular heart disease (VDH) patients (>10 million Europeans) do not receive a correct diagnosis and/or do not receive optimised care according to current guidelines. To fight against this, we need your help to reinforce the message given by the Council on Valvular Heart Disease, the aim of which is to promote training and education in VHD. Come join us in this adventure and become a member of the council.

Prof Patrizio Lancellotti, FESC

Chairperson 2019-2022


Activity reports

Read the 2019-2020 Activity Report from the Council on Valvular Heart Disease


ESC Councils' Internal Governance Procedures

The Nucleus

The council is led by a Nucleus.

Nucleus Members 2020-2022

Name Country Position
Prof. Patrizio Lancellotti FESC Belgium Chairperson
Prof. Gilbert Habib FESC France Chairperson-Elect
Prof. Luc A. Pierard FESC Belgium Past-Chairperson
Prof. Julia Grapsa FESC United Kingdom Treasurer & Secretary
Dr. Thomas Modine France Communications Coordinator
Dr. Marco Barbanti France Liaison Officer
Dr. Ariana Gonzalez-Gomez Spain Nucleus member
Dr. Anna Sannino Italy Nucleus member

Ex-officio Board Members 2020-2022

The Board is composed of ex-officio (non-voting) members including representatives from other ESC Associations, Working Groups, Councils & external valvular heart disease societies.

Ex-Officio member Representing
Prof. Philippe Pibarot  
Associate Prof. Augustin Coisne  
Dr. Rodolfo Citro  
Dr Mani Vannan  
Dr. Madalina Garbi  
Prof. Luis Moura  
Associate Prof. Vassilios Vassiliou European Association of Preventive Cardiology
Dr. Jordi Dahl European Association of Cardiovascular Imaging
Prof. Dariusz Dudek
European Association of Percutaneous Cardiovascular Interventions
Dr. Ovidiu Chioncel
Heart Failure Association
Prof. Johannes Waltenberger Council on Basic Cardiovascular Science
Dr. Stefano Nistri Council for Cardiology Practice
Associate Prof. Martin Czerny WG on Cardiovascular Surgery
Dr. Ruggero De Paulis  European Association for Cardio-Thoracic Surgery
Dr. Victoria Johnson ESC Board Committee for Young Cardiovascular Professionals